Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS70-06 Harry Lee Waterfield Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Harry Lee Waterfield Papers

Collection Title: Harry Lee Waterfield Papers
 
Series Number: MS70-06
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Cecilia Droege in 1970.
 
Date Listed: July 14, 2010
 
Date Span: 1937-1969
 
Size of Collection: 65.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 118 legal size document cases and 14 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, photographs, reports, ephemera and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Harry Lee Waterfield was Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky from 1955 to 1959 and from 1963 to 1967. He was born at Tobacco, Kentucky in Calloway County on January 19, 1911. He attended local public schools and graduated from Murray State Teachers College in 1932. Following graduation he entered into the newspaper business at La Center, Kentucky and later purchased the Carlisle County News, the Fulton Daily Ledger and the Hickman County Gazette. He served six terms in the Kentucky State Legislature from 1938 to 1952 and was Speaker of the House from 1944 to 1948. Waterfield campaigned for governor in 1947 but was defeated. He was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention six times from 1944 to 1968. From 1969 to 1973, he served on the Board of Regents for Murray State University. He later was president of the National Investors Life Insurance Company. He died on August 4, 1988.   
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, speeches and campaign material associated with Lieutenant Governor Harry Lee Waterfield of Kentucky from 1937 to 1969. The papers contain department, committee and commission reports, workbooks and notebooks, and legislative bills, acts and resolutions. Included with the collection are newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, photographs, paintings, certificates, awards, artifacts and memorabilia.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Waterfield, Harry Lee, 1911-1988.
Politicians – Kentucky.
Legislators – Kentucky.
Kentucky – Politics and government
Lieutenant governors – Kentucky,

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152