Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS76-02 Van D. Valentine Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Van D. Valentine Collection

Collection Title: Van D. Valentine Collection
 
Series Number: MS76-02
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Cecilia Droege in 1976. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 12, 2010.
 
Date Listed: July 12, 2010
 
Date Span: 1924-1984 (bulk 1924-1948)
 
Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case and 2 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Scrapbooks, photographs, newspaper clippings, record albums and audio cassettes.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with minor tears, fading and foxing due to age and improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Organized by creator; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Van Della Valentine was a musician and Assistant Post Master at Murray, Kentucky from the 1925 to 1965. He was born in Calloway County, Kentucky on May 5, 1904. He attended local public schools and graduated from Murray High School in 1923. He was a self-taught musician and was a member of the Murray State Band from 1925 to 1939. Valentine was one of the founders of the Kentucky Stompers Dance Band, the first dance band to play at the Murray State campus and a popular band in western Kentucky and Tennessee. He was also one of the original members of the West Kentucky Symphony Orchestra in 1946. During the later years of his life, he managed a music studio in town. Valentine died at Murray on December 2, 1984.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of scrapbooks kept by Van D. Valentine related to development of the Music Department of Murray State Normal School and Teachers College from 1925 to 1948. Scrapbooks contain photographs, newspaper clippings, programs and miscellaneous ephemera associated with the Murray State Band, West Kentucky Symphony Orchestra and the Kentucky Stompers Dance Band. Included with the collection are biographical information, a history of Music Department at Murray State during the 1920s and 1930s, photographs and audio cassette of the 50th reunion of the Kentucky Stompers Dance Band and sheet music of popular dance music of that era for violin and saxophone. 
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Valentine, Van D., 1904-1984
Murray State University. Dept. of Music – History.
West Kentucky Symphony Orchestra (Paducah, Ky.)
Kentucky Stompers Dance Band.
Murray (Ky.) – History.
 
Additional Sources: See My Memoirs by Van Della Valentine.
 
BOX LIST
 

Box 1

  1. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Early History of Murray State Music 1920s
  2. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Ephemera
  3. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Newspaper Clippings- Old
  4. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection New Clippings- Recent
  5. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Photographs ca. 1920- 1930
  6. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Reunion- Photograph and Cassette 1973
  7. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Scrapbook (part 1)
  8. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Scrapbook (part 2)
  9. Murray State University Archives Van D. Valentine Collection Sheet Music- Loose

Box 2 (oversized box)

  1. Scrapbooks

Box 3 (oversized box)

  1. Misc. Sheet music

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152