Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS76-01 Noble J. Gregory Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Noble J. Gregory Papers

Collection Title: Noble J. Gregory Papers

 

Series Number: 76-01

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim

 

Date Listed: June of 1976.

 

Date Span: 1933-1970

 

Size of Collection: 32 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 64 legal size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, business records, newspaper clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized into series; chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Noble Jones Gregory was born in Mayfield, Kentucky on August 30, 1897. He attended local public schools and graduated from Mayfield High School in 1915. After graduation, he briefly studied at Mayfield Business College before being employed by a survey party constructing a road between Mayfield and Paris, Tennessee. In 1917, he began a career in banking as a clerk with the First National Bank of Mayfield. By 1936 Gregory had risen to Trust Officer and Cashier of the bank. From 1923 to 1936, he served as the secretary treasurer for the Mayfield Board of Education. He also acted as campaign manager for his older brother William V. Gregory, who was elected United States Representative for Kentucky’s First District in 1926 and remained in office until his death in 1936. After the death of his brother, Noble was elected to fill his seat in Congress. He was re-elected ten times and served for eleven terms. He was defeated in the 1958 election by Frank A. Stubblefield. Gregory returned to the banking and investing profession in Mayfield. He died on September 26, 1971.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of official and personal correspondence of United States Representative Noble J. Gregory from 1933 to 1970. The bulk of the collection contains correspondence and records associated with Congressman Gregory’s eleven terms as representative of Kentucky’s First District from 1936 to 1958. His congressional papers include files on the Tennessee Valley Authority, Cumberland Dam project, military academy appointments, veteran affairs cases and letters from prominent state and national politicians. Also held in the collection are banking and business records, campaign materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, personal items, mementos, ephemera and other related materials.      

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Gregory, Noble Jones, 1897-1971

Politicians – United States – Kentucky.

Legislators – United States – Kentucky.

United States – Politics and government – 1936-1958

Kentucky – Politics and government.

Cumberland Dam

Tennessee Valley Authority

           

Additional Sources: See Noble Jones Gregory Papers, 1957-1958 at the University of Kentucky

 

Box List:

 

 

Box 1

1. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1938

2. Correspondence, 1938-1940: Corr. 1938

3. Correspondence, 1938-1940: Corr. 1939

4. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1939

5. Correspondence, 1938-1940: Corr. 1940

6. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1940

7. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1940

8. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1940

9. Correspondence, 1938-1940: 1940

Box 2

1. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Correspondence, Newspapers, 1940-42

2. Correspondence, 1940-1942: N.J.G.- C.L. Correspondence Summer 1942

3. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Tobacco Correspondence (1942)

4. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Anderson Pace (Postwar Discussion Group) Etc.

5. Correspondence, 1940-1942: 1941

6. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Corr. 1941

7. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Jan.- Feb. 1941

8. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Death of mother March 1941

9. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC March- April 1941

10. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC May- June 1941

11. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC July- Aug. 1941

12. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Sept.- Oct. 1941

13. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Nov.- Dec. 1941 Undated Letters 1941

14. Correspondence, 1940-1942: Corr. 1942

15. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Jan.- Feb. 1942

16. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Mar.- April 1942

17. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC May- June 1942

18. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Sept.- Oct. 1942

19. Correspondence, 1940-1942: GC Nov.- Dec. 1942 Undated Letters 1942

20. Correspondence, 1940-1942: 1942

21. Correspondence, 1940-1942: 1942

Box 3

1. Correspondence, 1943-1944: January, 1943

2. Correspondence, 1943-1944: February 1943

3. Correspondence, 1943-1944: March 1943

4. Correspondence, 1943-1944: April 1943

5. Correspondence, 1943-1944: May 1943

6. Correspondence, 1943-1944: June 1943

7. Correspondence, 1943-1944: July- August 1943

8. Correspondence, 1943-1944: September- October 1943

9. Correspondence, 1943-1944: November- December 1943

10. Correspondence, 1943-1944: January- February 1944

11. Correspondence, 1943-1944: March-April 1944

12. Correspondence, 1943-1944: May-June 1944

13. Correspondence, 1943-1944: July- August 1944

14. Correspondence, 1943-1944: September- October 1944

15. Correspondence, 1943-1944: November- December 1944

Box 4

1. Correspondence, 1945-1947: A.P. Day (1945) Princeton, Ky.

2. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Jan.- Feb. 1945

3. Correspondence, 1945-1947: March- April 1945

4. Correspondence, 1945-1947: May- June 1945

5. Correspondence, 1945-1947: July- Aug. 1945

6. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Sept.- Oct. 1945

7. Correspondence, 1945-1947: 1945

8. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Nov.- Dec. 1945

9. Correspondence, 1945-1947: 1946

10. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Corr. 1946

11. Correspondence, 1945-1947: 1946

12. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Corr. 1946

13. Correspondence, 1945-1947: Civil Service Retirement Information 1947

14. Correspondence, 1945-1947: 1947

15. Correspondence, 1945-1947: 1947

Box 5

1. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence Murray Radio 1947-1948

2. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence January- May 1948

3. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence June- December 1948

4. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1948

5. Correspondence, 1948-1949: 1948

6. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

7. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

8. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

9. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence- Inaugural 1949

10. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

11. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

12. Correspondence, 1948-1949: Correspondence 1949

13. Correspondence, 1948-1949: 1949

Box 6

1. Correspondence 1950

2. Correspondence,1950

3. Correspondence concerning European Trip 1949-1950

4. Correspondence, 1950

5. Correspondence, 1950

6. Correspondence, 1950

Box 7

1. Correspondence Jan.- Feb. 1951

2. Correspondence March- April 1951

3. Correspondence May- June 1951

4. Correspondence July-August 1951

5. Correspondence September- October 1951

6. Correspondence 1951

7. Correspondence November- December 1951

8. Correspondence 1951

9. Correspondence 1951

10. Correspondence 1951

11. Correspondence 1951

12. Correspondence 1951

13. Correspondence, 1951

14. Correspondence, 1951: Fort Jefferson

15. Correspondence, 1951: Sultana

16. Correspondence, 1951: Haley, Alex

17. Correspondence, 1951: Mid-Continent Bible College

18. Correspondence 1951

19. Correspondence 1951

Box 8

1. Correspondence 1952

2. Correspondence 1952

3. Correspondence 1952

4. Correspondence 1952

5. Correspondence 1952

6. Correspondence 1952

7. Correspondence 1952

8. Correspondence 1953

9. Correspondence 1953

10. Correspondence 1953

11. Correspondence 1953

12. Correspondence 1953

13. Correspondence 1954

14. Correspondence 1954

Box 9

1. Correspondence A 1954

2. Correspondence B 1954

3. Correspondence C 1954

4. Correspondence D 1954

5. Correspondence E 1954

6. Correspondence F 1954

7. Correspondence G 1954

8. Correspondence Thomas Graham 1954

9. Correspondence H 1954

10. Correspondence I 1954

11. Correspondence J 1954

12. Correspondence K 1954

13. Correspondence L 1954

14. Correspondence M 1954

15. Correspondence Mc 1954

Box 10

1. Correspondence N 1954

2. Correspondence O 1954

3. Correspondence P 1954

4. Correspondence Q 1954

5. Correspondence R 1954

6. Correspondence S 1954

7. Correspondence T 1954

8. Correspondence U 1954

9. Correspondence V 1954

10. Correspondence W 1954

11. CorrespondenceX-Y- Z 1954

Box 11

1. Correspondence 1955

2. Correspondence 1955

3. Correspondence 1955

4. Correspondence 1955

5. Correspondence 1955

6. Correspondence 1955

Box 12

1. Correspondence 1956

2. Correspondence 1956

3. Correspondence 1956

4. Correspondence 1956

5. Correspondence 1956

6. Correspondence 1956

7.Correspondence 1957

8. Correspondence 1957

Box 13

1. Correspondence, 1958: 1958

2. Correspondence, 1958: 1958

3. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

4. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

5. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

6. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

7. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

8. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

9. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

10. Correspondence, 1958: Corr. 1958

Box 14

1. - 9. Correspondence, 1958

Box 15

1. Correspondence 1959

2. Correspondence 1960

3. Correspondence 1961

4. Correspondence 1960-1963

5. Correspondence 1962-3

6. Correspondence 1963

7. Correspondence 1964

8. Correspondence 1964

Box 16

1. Correspondence 1965

2. Correspondence 1966-1968

3. Correspondence 1966-70

4. Correspondence 1965

5. Correspondence, 1965-1970: Letters from Mrs. Wesley Roberts

6. Correspondence, 1969-1970

Box 17

1. Letters from Members to Mr. Hortin with reference to Gilbertsville Dam

2. Flood Control 1937-39

3. Correspondence Cumberland Dam- Gilbertsville, 1937-38

4. T.V.A. 1937-38

5. T.V.A. Park 1940-41

6. TVA Bridge Bill 1944

7. T.V.A. 1939 Correspondence

8. Benton Camp- T.V.A. Excavations 1940

9. Information TVA 1940

10. Gilbertsville Bridge- 1942

Box 18A

1. Correspondence- Cumberland Dam Project 1944-1946 

2. Correspondence Cumberland Dam 1948-1949

3. Correspondence Cumberland Dam 1950

4. Cumberland Dam 1950

5. Correspondence- Cumberland Dam 1951

6. Correspondence Cumberland Dam 1952

7. Correspondence Cumberland Dam 1953

8. Cumberland Dam 1954

9. Cumberland Dam 1954

10. Cumberland River Dam

11. Cumberland River Dam 1954

12. Cumberland Dam 1954

13. Cumberland Dam 1955

Box 18

1. Photos

2. Cumberland Dam 1956

3. Cumberland Dam 1956

4. Cumberland Dam 1956

5. Cumberland Dam 1956

6. Cumberland Dam 1957

7. T.V.A. Cumberland Dam 1957

8. Cumberland Dam 1957

9. Congressional Record Proceedings and Debates of the 85 th Congress, First Session

10. 8 th Congress 2 d Session H.R. 9859 [Report No. 2247]

11. River and Harbor, Beach Erosion, and Flood Control Projects Report of the Committee on Public Works on H.R. 9859 A Bill Authorizing the Construction, Repair, and Preservation of Certain Public Works on Rivers and Harbors for Navigation, Flood

Control, and for other purposes

12. Flood Control Omnibus Bill (Title II- H.R. 9859) Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Flood Control and the Committee on Public Works House of Representatives Eighty-Third Congress First and Second Sessions on H.R. 9859

Box 19

1. “Between the Rivers”- TVA

2. T.V.A. 1957- 58

3. T.V.A. 1958

4. Correspondence- Newsclippings 1958 Barkley Dam

5. Correspondence- Barkley Dam 1958

6. Correspondence- Barkley Dam 1958

7. Correspondence- Barkley Dam 1958

Box 20

1. T.V.A. Correspondence 1943-44

2. T.V.A. 1945-46

3. T.V.A. 1945-46

4. T.V.A. 1947-48

5. T.V.A. General Correspondence 1947-49

6. T.V.A. 1955-1957

7. T.V.A. 1952-4

8. T.V.A. 1956

Box 21

1. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-57 Job cases A

2. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-55 cases B

3. Correspondence (Job Cases) Burnley, Charles W.

4. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-55 cases Burt

5. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-55 cases C

6. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-1955 D-F

7. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1935-55 Jobs G

8. Correspondence (Job Cases) G 1950-1957

Box 22

1. Correspondence (Job Cases)  1937-1958 H

2. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1937-1958 I

3. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1937-1958 J

4. Correspondence (Job Cases) K

5. Correspondence (Job Cases) 1937-58 L

6. Correspondence (Job Cases) M

7. Correspondence (Job Cases) N-O

Box 23

1. Correspondence (Job Cases) Wells Purdom

2. Correspondence (Job Cases) P

3. Correspondence (Job Cases) all dates R

4. Correspondence (Job Cases)  S

5. Correspondence (Job Cases) T

6. Correspondence (Job Cases)  U-V

7. Correspondence (Job Cases) W-X- Y-Z

Box 24

1. - 64 Correspondence, Veterans’ Affairs, 1958

Box 25

1. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Frank G. “Buddy” Barnes Hopkinsville 1944

2. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Ernest Carter Michael Higgins Hopkinsville 

3. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: H

4. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: John Gordon Hamby RFD 

5. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: John C. Hammond 

6. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Solon Hale Murray 1940

7. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Robert E. Holeman- 1958 

8. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: William Duane Holloman 

9. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Joseph R. James 

10. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: John Starge Kern 

11. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Robert Carter McAllister 

12. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Hugh Mac McClellan 

13. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Fletcher McMurry 

14. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Herbert Francis Minton, Jr.- 1955 Paducah (Died 1958)

15. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: William N. Moore Hopkinsville Graduated 1958

16. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: James M. Morris Father-Army. From Pembroke 1942

17. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Robert B. Moseley, Jr.- 1956 Mayfield Hon. Discharged 1957

18. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Joseph C. Reaves Mayfield 1947

19. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Robert Richard Randolph Paducah 1940

20. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Timothy A. Pedley III Princeton 1939

21. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Urey W. Patrick, Jr. Clinton 1940

22. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: James W. Partin Wickliffe 1954

23. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Nat M. Pace Hardin 1939

24. Military Academy Appointments 1939-1958 B-R: Robert Douglass Nichol- 1957 Paducah

Box 26

1. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Richard Griffin Hopkinsville Graduated 1954

2. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Otis O. Dinning, Jr.- 1958 Paducah

3. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: John H. Cobb Hopkinsville 1940

4. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: William Clark Craig Paducah 1940

5. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Robert W. Clement Father- Army from Crittenden County 1946

6. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Larry G. Bruce- 1957 Mayfield Resigned 1957

7. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Harold W. Reed Paducah Graduated 1958

8. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: William J. Ryan Paducah 1945

9. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Jimmy Edward Seay Mayfield, Kentucky. Graduated 1955

10. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Linn Tyler Shoup- 1958 Paducah

11. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Smith, Carl R.- 1953 Hopkinsville Resigned 1958

12. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Smith, Thomas W. Paducah 1942

13. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Allen H. Somers Paducah 1948

14. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Shelly G. Spear Mother- Mary Frances Shelton Clinton 1942

15. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: James Patterson Sykes Murray Didn’t finish 1952

16. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: James C. Van Pelt Marion 1940

17. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Clyde R. Vinson- 1958 Cadiz

18. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Thomas Walker- 1956 Paducah

19. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Luther Benjamin Wallace 1941

20. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Robert D. Whitesell Fulton 1946

21. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: Rodney Wingo La Center 1941

22. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: General, 1958-1959

23. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: B

24. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: D-G

25. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: J-K

26. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: L

27. Military Academy Appointments, 1939-1958 R-W, General: N-T

Box 27

1. Correspondence Non Cases: John C. Lovett

2. Correspondence Non Cases: Merit Clothing Company

3. Correspondence Non Cases: Merit Clothing Co.

4. Correspondence Non Cases: Estelle Morehead

5. Correspondence Non Cases: John C. Parsons

6. Correspondence Non Cases: Ed J. Paxton, Sr. and Jr.

7. Correspondence Non Cases: Zellner L. Peal

8. Correspondence Non Cases: G.M. Pedley

9. Correspondence Non Cases: Joe and Farland Robbins

10. Correspondence Non Cases: Jesse C. Saunders

11. Correspondence Non Cases: T.L. Stovall Roy Stovall Wilson Baugh

12. Correspondence Non Cases: Dr. E.C. Walter

13. Correspondence Non Cases: Misc.

Box 28

1. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal- Childress

2. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal

3. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal Lots- Mayfield, Kentucky Butch Barger Lots) 1956

4. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal, Stock Data

5. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal, Tax Data, 1968, 1969

6. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964-1966: Gregory and Peal- Tax Data

7. Business and Tax Records, Gregory and Peal- 1964- 1966: Upper Street

Box 29

1. Business and Banking Records: Citizens Bank and Trust Co., Jeffersonville, Indiana

2. Business and Banking Records: Bishop Coal Co. 1949-1958

3. Business and Banking Records: Cloverport Bank 1953

4. Business and Banking Records: Coca Cola 1953-54

5. Business and Banking Records: Commonwealth Water 1953-55

6. Business and Banking Records: Christian County Land

7. Business and Banking Records: Crittenden Co. Oil Leases 1956-58

8. Business and Banking Records: Housing Project Peter Mitchell and Co. KOW land 1951

9. Business and Banking Records: Kentucky Industries and Trust 1957-58

10. Business and Banking Records: Kentucky Stone 1955-57

11. Business and Banking Records: Kentucky Water Service Company 1949- 57

12. Business and Banking Records: Liberty Savings Bank

13. Business and Banking Records: Ohio Land and Timber 1948-1949

14. Business and Banking Records: Ohio Land and Timber 1948-1950

15. Business and Banking Records: Ohio Land and Timber 1951-1953

16. Business and Banking Records: Ohio Land and Timber 1954-1968

17. Business and Banking Records: Bankers Southern, Inc. 1959-65

18. Business and Banking Records: Banks

Box 30

1. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Old Stock Information American Turf, Etc.

2. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Bankers Southern 1958

3. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: First Natl Bank- 1939

4. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: 1 st Natl Bank 1945-56

5. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Louisville Title and Mortgage Co. 1955-56

6. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Minute Maid 1956

7. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Morton Packing Company 1954-56

8. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Mayfield Radio Station 1947

9. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Mayfield Broadcasting 1947-1950

10. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Mayfield Broadcasting 1951-1954

11. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Olin Industry Corr. 1952-1954

12. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Ohio River Sand Company Correspondence 1954-1958

13. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Annual Reports- Ashland Oil Minute Maid Republic Steel

14. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1943-1958: Trigg County Land

Box 31

1. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: The Annie Gardner Foundation

2. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: The Annie Gardner Foundation Mayfield, Kentucky 1949-1954

3. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Gardner Case (Stockholder’s Meeting, First Natl Bank of Mayfield, 1959-1960)

4. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Gardner Will, Morgan Deposition

5. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Gardner Will Case- Codicil

6. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Clay Depletion Correspondence

7. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Kentucky-Tennessee Clay Co.

8. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: Kentucky-Tennessee Clay Co. 1953-1956

9. Correspondence (Business Interests) 1953-1965: 1962 Mid City Development Assoc.

10. Consider H. Willett Feb. 1955

Box 32

1. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Rate Charts

2. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Weekly Activity Reports

3. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Rogers-Atkins Insurance

4. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: American Central Life and Disability

5. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Region C Slone Estill

6. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I

7. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I

8. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Agents Indiana

9. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: 4 C Training Schools

10. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: Correspondence Hensley

11. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part I: American Central Claim Forms

Box 33

1. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II

2. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: American Central (Cancer)

3. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Rejected- 23

4. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Accepted 19

5. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Refused

6. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Accepted

7. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Owen Billington Special Rates, Etc.

8. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Harlan Mills and Bob Redman

9. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Plans of Operations Plans of Reporting 4C Program Reports

10. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Executive Committee

11. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Production Reports Weekly

12. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Mortgage Protection Reduction Scale

13. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Prospective Agents

14. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Region B Brown Verner O

15. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Hadden Carl District Agent

16. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Herron Insurance Agency

17. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part II: Region A Billingtons

Box 34

1. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III

2. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Juvenile Endowment Policy

3. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Twenty Payment Life Policy

4. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Mortgage Protection Policy

5. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Endowment at Age 65 Policy

Box 35

1. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: American Central Life and Disability Insurance Company

2. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Insurance 1961

3. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Conference- Law Offices, Eskridge, Groce and Hebdon, 911 Frost National Bank Bldg., San Antonio Bexar County, Texas, February 7, 1956. (Duplicate)

4. Business and Insurance Records and Correspondence Part III: Plaintiffs Original Petition

Box 36

1. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: N.J. Gregory Nov. 4- 9 1936

2. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Nov. 10- Dec. 21, 1936

3. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Jan.- Feb. 1937

4. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Mar.- April 1937

5. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC May- July 1937

6. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Aug.- Dec. 1937 Undated Letters 1937

7. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Jan.- March 1938

8. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC April- June 1938

9. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC July- Dec. 1938 Undated Letters 1938

10. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: Cor. 1939

11. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC Jan.- June 1939

12. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: Corr. 1938

13. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: Corr. 1938

14. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: Cor. 1938

15. Correspondence (Political) 1933-1939: GC July- Dec. 1939

Box 37

1. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Campaign of 1940 Labor Endorsements

2. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Bryan, Holland G. War Record 1940

3. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Campaign of 1940 Letters of Congratulations

4. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Campaign of 1940

5. Correspondence (Political) 1940: GC Sept.-Dec. 1940 Undated Letters

6. Correspondence (Political) 1940: GC May- Aug. 1940

7. Correspondence (Political) 1940: GC Jan.- April 1940

8. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Corr. 1940

9. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Corr. 1940

10. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Corr. 1940

11. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Corr. 1940

12. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Corr. 1940

13. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Cor. 1940

14. Correspondence (Political) 1940: Cor. 1940

Box 38

1. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Corr. 1936 Noble Gregory Death of Wm Voris Gregory Pledges of support

2. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: 1936 Noble Gregory 1936 Election

3. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Corr. 1937 Noble Gregory Correspondence, 1937

4. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Correspondence Letters of Congratulations, Condolence, 1936- 1958

5. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Political Correspondence, 1956

6. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Political Letters District Campaign Workers 1946

7. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Gordon, Elwood (Candidacy, 1948)

8. Correspondence (Political) 1936-1958: Politics, 1956 Election

Box 39

1. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Campaign of 1944 General Correspondence

2. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Parr, W.O. 1943-1944 Political

3. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: 1940 Election

4. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Congratulations 1944

5. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Political Correspondence, 1957

6. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Political Form Letters, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958

7. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Campaign of 1958 Notification and Declaration

8. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Democratic Committeemen and Committeewomen, 1958. Lists, Letters

9. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Campaign, 1958 Newspaper advertisements

10. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Labor’s Endorsement, 1958

11. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Marshall County, Ky. 1958 Campaign

12. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Muhlenberg County, Ky. 1958 Campaign

13. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Political Speeches, 1958 campaign

14. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Radio Assignments, 1958 campaign

15. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Campaign, 1958, 1962

16. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Gregory’s Petition for Recount, 1958

17. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Campaign of 1958 Clippings

18. Congressional Campaign, 1958 Political Items, 1940, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1962: Frank Albert Stubblefield

Box 40

1. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Misc.-Political (undated)

2. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1938

3. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Campaign Posters

4. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Campaign of 1944 Expenses

5. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1940-1946

6. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Campaign- 1947

7. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1948 Campaign Correspondence

8. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Bell, T. Elvis Congressional Candidacy, 1948

9. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Correspondence 1948 Campaign

10. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Correspondence 1948 Campaign

11. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Campaign of 1948

12. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1954

13. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1948-1952

14. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: 1956 Advertising

15. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Newspaper Clippings- 1956 Gregory

16. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: General Election 1956 Newspaper Clippings

17. Congressional Campaign materials, 1938-1957: Newspaper Clippings 1957 Democratic Primary

Box 41

1. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Ohio, Todd, Trigg, others

2. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Christian, Crittenden,Fulton

3. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Yearbook lists, Christmas lists, County officials

4. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle

Box 42

1. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon

2. Yearbooks (correspondence, county official, and Christmas lists): Logan, McCracken, Marshall, Muhlenberg

Box 43

1. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Barkley P-Z [1954]

2. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Barkley J, K, L, M, N-O

3. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Barkley Campaign 1954 A-B- C

4. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Barkley Campaign D-E- F-G- H-I

5. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Dr. James E. Albritton

6. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Acree Austin

7. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Barnes, Vigo

8. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Hub Bennett

9. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Seth Boaz and Sons Besides what you have already sent Seth

10. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Earle C. Clements 1947-50

11. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Con Craig

12. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Mabry, Ernestine

13. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Maddox, Charles 1941

14. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Morris, H.H. 1954-55

15. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1937-1955: Henry Jack Wilson Brother of Mrs. Fran Frinks

Box 44

1. Correspondence (Official) 1943-1956: Committee on Ways and Means, Correspondence, 1943

2. Correspondence (Official) 1943-1956: Committee on Committees Correspondence, 1945

3. Correspondence (Official) 1943-1956: Committee on Committees, Correspondence, 1952, 1953, 1954 Working papers, 85th Congress

4. Correspondence (Official) 1943-1956: Fact Sheet, Compiled, Edited and Published by Willis E. Stone

Box 45

1. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Chester A. Byrn and children Walker Turner

2. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Foster, W.F.

3. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Foster, W.F.

4. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Wayne Freeman

5. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Mrs. George Fuller and Sons

6. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Mr. Ed Gardner 1937 through 1941

7. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Hill, Henry K.

8. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Inauguration 1957

9. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Zellner L. Peal

10. Correspondence (Official and Political) 1936-1958: Atomic Energy Comm. Paducah Plant, Correspondence 1951-1953

Box 46

1. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Peal, 1939- May 1940

2. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Peal, 1937- 56

3. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence, May 1940- Dec. 21, 1940

4. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence, 1941

5. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence, 1942

6. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal, Correspondence, 1943

7. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence 1944

8. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence 1948-1954

9. Zellner L. Peal Business and Political Correspondence, 1937-1958: Zellner L. Peal Correspondence 1955-1958

Box 47

1. Miscellaneous Materials, directories: Telephone and Pictorial Directories

2. Miscellaneous Materials, directories: Pamphlets

Box 48

1. Camp Voris Gregory

2. Honorable Noble J. Gregory Foreign Trade Impact Study State of Kentucky

3. Foreign Trade Impact Study First Congressional District of Kentucky

4. Barkley Airport Dedication 1949

5. Ky. Colonels Letter

6. Mac Arthur Controversy

7. Gregory Collection- Signatures- of Famous Men

8. Kentucky History Material

9. Paducah Broadcasting Company Lackey- Paxton, Bryns Correspondence (1941)

10. U.S.S. Paducah

11. Paducah Junior College 1943

12. Egners Ferry Celebration (1945)

13. Noble Gregory Papers MS76-1 Correspondence RE Naval/ Flight Training School at

Murray State Teachers College 1942-45 Folder 1

14. Noble J. Gregory Papers MS76-1 Correspondence RE Naval/ Flight Training School at

Murray State Teachers College 1942-45 Folder 2

15. Noble J. Gregory Papers MS76-1 Correspondence RE Naval/ Flight Training School at

Murray State Teachers College 1942-45 Folder 3

Box 49

1. Photos- Business and Political: Photos

Box 49A

1. Congressional Record and Speeches (Various Dates)

2. Speeches

Box 50

1. Photograph Records, Military Bands: USMC Band

2. Photograph Records, Military Bands: USAF Band

3. Photograph Records, Military Bands: USAF Band

4. Photograph Records, Military Bands: USAF Band

5. Photograph Records, Military Bands

6. Photograph Records, Military Bands

7. Photograph Records, Military Bands

8. Photograph Records, Military Bands

Box 51

1. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Election Returns Nov. 3, 1936

2. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1936-37 Congr. Election

3. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1936-37 Miscellaneous

4. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1937

5. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1938

6. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Gilbertsville Dam

7. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1939

8. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1940

9. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1940 Election Vote by Precincts

10. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Political Announcements and Advertisements (1940)

11. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: News articles 1940 Campaign

12. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Editorials 1940 Campaign and Letters to Editor

13. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Election Returns (1940)

14. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Bridge Bill (1941) Eggner’s Ferry

15. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1941

16. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Bridge Bill (1946) Ky. Dam 1941

17. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Defense Projects Dispute Over

18. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Fort Campbell Defense Project (1941)

19. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1942

20. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Navy Munitions Plant Viola (1942)

Box 52

1. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1943

2. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1943 Ky. Election

3. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1944

4. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1944 Primary Returns State and County

5. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1944 Primary Announcements, Advertisements

6. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1944 Primary Returns Vote by Precincts

7. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1944 Election News Articles, Editorials

8. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: Clippings- Poems Speech Materials 1944

9. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1945

10. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1946

11. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1946 Campaign

12. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1946 U.S.S. Paducah

13. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1947

14. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1947 (Political)

15. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948

16. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948 Primary Announcements, Advertisements and Acknowledgements

17. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948 Primary News Articles, Editorials, and letters to editor

18. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948 Primary Returns

19. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948 Primary Returns Vote by Precincts

20. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1948 Nov. Election

21. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1949

22. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1949 Ky. Election

23. Newspaper Clippings, 1936- 1942: 1950

Box 53

1. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1951

2. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1951 Nov. Election

3. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1952 New Articles

4. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1952 Editorials and Letters to Editor

5. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1952 Election Returns

6. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1952 Redistricting

7. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1953

8. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1953 Primary

9. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1954

10. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1954 Campaign

11. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1955

12. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1956

13. Newspaper Clippings, 1951- 1958: 1958

Box 54

1. Newspaper Clippings, 1957- 1968: Newspaper Clippings 1957

2. Newspaper Clippings, 1957- 1968: Newspaper Clippings- General- 1958

3. Newspaper Clippings, 1957- 1968

Box 55

1. Newspaper Clippings, A.B. “Happy” Chandler 1935, 1955-1956: Newspaper Clippings- Happy Chandler 1955 Primary

2. Newspaper Clippings, A.B. “Happy” Chandler 1935, 1955-1956

Box 56

1. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): Clippings- Misc.

2. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): Chandler Campaign, 1955

3. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): Newspaper Clippings, 1944, 5, 6 Campaigns

4. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): Clippings- Misc.

5. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): 1937 Duplicates

6. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): 1958 Election

7. Newspaper Clippings (all dates): Old Mayfield Papers Clippings

Box 57

1. Newspaper Clippings Miscellaneous: 1944- Misc.

2. Newspaper Clippings Miscellaneous

Box 58

1. Newspapers (unclipped)

Box 59

1. Newspaper Clippings: Newspapers

2. Newspaper Clippings: Misc.

3. Newspaper Clippings: Misc.

4. Newspaper Clippings: Misc.

Box 60

1. Correspondence (Personal – Mrs. Gregory): Misc. Envelopes

2. Correspondence (Personal – Mrs. Gregory): Medical Data, 1956- 1965

3. Correspondence (Personal – Mrs. Gregory): Medical Treatment, Mrs. Gregory

Box 61

1. Correspondence (Personal): Christmas and New Year Letters 1952- 53

2. Correspondence (Personal): Christmas Letters 1956

3. Correspondence (Personal): Cards

4. Correspondence (Personal): Correspondence- Personal

5. Correspondence (Personal): Correspondence- Personal

Box 62

1. Personal Items and Mementos: Gregory, Mrs. William J. Obituaries, 1941

2. Personal Items and Mementos: Biography (1952)

3. Personal Items and Mementos: Non dated letters from Daughter to Gregory

4. Personal Items and Mementos: N.J.G. – C.L. Correspondence September 1941

5. Personal Items and Mementos: N.J.G. – C.L. Correspondence

6. Personal Items and Mementos: Marion Gregory, Jr. Lease, etc. 1954

7. Personal Items and Mementos: Marion Hale Gregory II Dinah’s papers- Holton Arms, Etc.

8. Personal Items and Mementos: Marion Hale Gregory

9. Personal Items and Mementos: Mrs. Noble J. Gregory Storage, Etc. 1954

10. Personal Items and Mementos: Wires- Mrs. Gregory 9-1- 54

11. Personal Items and Mementos: Letters Written 9-2 Mrs. Gregory

12. Personal Items and Mementos: Shug Gregory Wedding Lists, etc. 1957

Box 63

1. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records)

2. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records): Personal Mementos

3. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records): articles about congress

4. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records): Genealogy- Gregory

5. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records): Inventory and Financial Records

6. Miscellaneous (Souvenirs, articles, genealogy, records): Mrs. Gregory- Father’s Estate

1951 (Wm. Lindsay Hale)

Box 64

1. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Byrn, Collins Pitman

2. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Kuttawa Chas. W. Burnley- Political

3. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: George Q. Langstaff, Jr. Paducah Resigned 1946 1945

4. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Thomas Corbett Langstaff Paducah 1943

5. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: James W. Lisanby Princeton

6. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Aubrey Childress General

7. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: No. 5292 Judges Retirement Bill- Judge Gardner (1940)

8. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Mr. Ed Gardner 1942 through 1957

9. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Judge Bunk Gardner and Sons

10. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Gregory, N.

11. Miscellaneous materials found in upper stacks in 1997: Noble Gregory

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152