Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS73-08 Margaret Campbell Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Margaret Campbell Papers

Collection Title: Margaret Campbell Papers
 
Series Number: MS73-08
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 30, 2010.
 
Date Listed: April 30, 2010
 
Date Span: 1937-1993
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings and photographs.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Margaret Campbell was an instructor of History and English at the Murray State Teachers College Training School at Murray, Kentucky from 1927 to 1956. After her retirement, she returned to her hometown of Lebanon, Tennessee.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence written by Margaret Campbell from Murray, Kentucky to relatives at Lebanon, Tennessee during the 1937 flood. The letters contain descriptions of the flood at Paducah, refugees fleeing the disaster and its effects upon Murray State Teachers College and nearby community of Murray, Kentucky. Included with the collection are photographs, transcripts of the correspondence, newspaper clippings and a 1993 journal article that was based upon the letters.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Campbell, Margaret
Paducah (Ky.) – Flood, 1937
McCracken County (Ky.) – History – Sources.
Paducah (Ky.) – History – Sources.
Murray (Ky.) – History – Sources.
Calloway County – History – Sources.
 
Additional Sources: See “Above the Water’s Edge: Murray was a haven for many caught in the Great Flood of 1937” in the Jackson Purchase Historical Society Journal, June of 1993.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152