Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS73-06 William M. Stalls Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

William M. Stalls Papers

Collection Title: William M. Stalls Papers
 
Series Number: MS73-06
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 30, 2010.
 
Date Listed: April 30, 2010
 
Date Span: 1858-1861
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder; 14 items.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: According to the 1880 census, William M. Stalls was farmer from Indian Mound, Stewart County, Tennessee born in 1835.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied correspondence written to William M. Stalls of Stewart County, Tennessee from 1858 to 1861. The collection includes letters from friends in Oxford, Mississippi discussing politics, secession and the upcoming Civil War. A letter dated April 27, 1861 mentions formation of a “company of guards” being formed in Oxford, Mississippi, Confederate troops landing at Fort Pickens and “one thousand abolitionists at Cairo”.   
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Stalls, William M., 1835-
Sinclair, Noah
United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.
Mississippi – Politics and government – 1815-1861.
Oxford (Miss.) – History.
Lafayette County (Miss.) – History. 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152