Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS73-04 John Franklin Locke Journal: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John Franklin Locke Journal

Collection Title: John Franklin Locke Journal

 

Series Number: MS73-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 29, 2010.

 

Date Listed: April 29, 2010

 

Date Span: 1861-1864

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal sized file folders; 2 items.

 

Type of Material: Journal.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: John Franklin Locke was a member of Company D, 14th Tennessee Infantry Regiment during the American Civil War. He was born in Stewart County, Tennessee in 1845. He joined the Confederate Army at Camp Duncan, near Clarksville, Tennessee in May of 1861. His company was organized as part of the 14th Tennessee on June 6, 1861. He witnessed combat at Yorktown, Seven Pines, Mechanicsville, Gaines’s’ Mill, Cedar Mountain, Second Bull Run, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and Falling Waters. Locke was captured by Union troops on July 14, 1863 at Falling Waters, West Virginia and imprisoned at Fort McHenry, where he is believed to have died of sickness.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied journal written by John Franklin Locke during the American Civil War from July 16, 1861 to February 18, 1864. The diary contains brief accounts of the battles at Yorktown, Seven Pines, Mechanicsville, Gaines’s Mill, Cedar Mountain, Second Bull Run, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and Falling Waters. Locke also writes of life in a Confederate military camp and being held prisoner at Fort McHenry, Maryland. Included with the collection is a photocopy of a typed transcript of the journal.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Locke, John Franklin, 1845-

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.

Confederate States of America. Army. Tennessee Infantry Regiment, 14th, Company D – History.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Prisoners and prisons.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152