Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS73-03 John J. Hamlett Letters: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John J. Hamlett Letters

Collection Title: John J. Hamlett Letters

 

Series Number: 73-03

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 28, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July of 1976. Relisted on April 28, 2010

 

Date Span: 1861-1862

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 3 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some fading and foxing.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: John J. Hamlett was born in Graves County, Kentucky in 1843. He enlisted in the Confederate States Army, 7th Kentucky Infantry Regiment, Company A at Camp Bennett (near Clinton, Kentucky) in September of 1861. He died of wounds received during the Battle of Shiloh on May 26, 1862.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of three letters written by John J. Hamlett when he was stationed at Camp Moore near Columbus, Kentucky from November of 1861 to January of 1862. He mentions a cannon that burst and killed seven soldiers while firing at a Union gunboat in November of 1861. He also describes camp life, the price of food and the troops being well fed.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Columbus (Ky.). Battle of, 1861.

Confederate States of America – Military life.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.

Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

Confederate States of America. Army. Kentucky Infantry Regiment, 7th.

 

Additional Sources: See History of the 3d, 7th, 8th and 12th Kentucky C.S.A. by Henry George.

Collection Inventory - MS73-03

File 1 of 1

            1861 November 17

            Camp Moore

            Columbus, Kentucky

            From John J. Hamlett to Uncle

Letter describes a confrontation with a Union gunboat and explosion of a cannon that killed seven or eight and wounded “a good many more”. He mentions that his regiment may be transferred to Camp Beauregard or Bowling Green, Kentucky.

 

            1862 January 23

            Columbus, Kentucky

            From John J. Hamlett to Sister [Sarah Ann Willingham]

Letter describes that he is healthy and gained twelve pounds since leaving home. He claims the men in his company have plenty of blankets and bed clothing.

 

1862 February 10

Columbus, Kentucky

From John J. Hamlett to Sister [Sarah Ann Willingham]

Letter states that he has been sick for ten days but is doing better. He mentions there is plenty to drink and eat for the soldiers.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152