Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS73-02a George C. Crumbaugh Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

George C. Crumbaugh Papers

Collection Title: George C. Crumbaugh Papers

 

Series Number: 73-02a

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.

 

Date Listed: No information listed.

 

Date Span: 1861-1910

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 letter half size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, sermons, church records and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair. A few of the photocopies are faded and are not legible.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: George C. Crumbaugh was a merchant and a partner of a steamship line from Paducah, Kentucky during the latter part of the 19th Century. He was a board member and superintendent of the Sunday school at the Broadway Methodist Church from the 1840s to the 1880s. He later became a board of trustee member for the Locust Street Methodist Church in 1883 until his death in 1917. Crumbaugh was born on June 17, 1834 in Bullitt County, Kentucky and died on November 2, 1917 in Paducah. He was the brother of Reverend George W. Crumbaugh of Louisville, Kentucky.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopies of correspondence, sermons, legal documents and ephemera associated with George C. Crumbaugh of Paducah, Kentucky from 1861 to 1910.  The collection includes the minutes of the Broadway, Paducah, Memphis Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South from 1891, notes from congregation meetings and letters from family members, colleagues and friends.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

            Crumbaugh, George C., 1834-1917.

            Crumbaugh family.

            Paducah – History.

            Broadway, Paducah, Memphis Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South

            Methodist Church – Kentucky – Paducah.

            Broadway Methodist Church, Paducah, Ky.

            Locust Street Methodist Church, Paducah, Ky.

 

Additional Sources: See Histories and Biographies of Ballard, Calloway, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, McCracken and Marshall Counties, Kentucky by J. H. Battle, W. H. Perrin and G. C. Kniffin.

 

Box List

Box 1

1. Church Records

2. Correspondence 1861-1875

3. Correspondence 1876-1910

4. Legal Documents

5. Sermons

6. Miscellaneous Papers

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152