Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS72-02 Nance Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Nance Family Papers

Collection Title: Nance Family papers
 
Series Number: MS72-02
 
Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.
 
Date Listed: 1972. No exact date listed.
 
Date Span: 1837-1866
 
Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, legal documents and receipts.
 
Condition of Material: Good. Some documents are illegible due to improper photocopying and storage.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by surname; chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Thomas Nance and his family settled in Roaring Springs, Kentucky in 1819. The following year the families of Payton and Lessenberry Nance relocated and settled in Trigg County. Hugh Massie and his wife Mary (Royster) settled in Trigg County sometime between 1812 and 1814. Their daughter Ann Elizabeth Massie married George Coleman Durrett.     
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied correspondence received by the Nance family of Roaring Springs, Kentucky from 1844 to 1866. The collection also contains photocopied letters of the Durrett, Massie and Royster families of Todd and Christian County, Kentucky from 1819 to 1852. Included in the correspondence is a letter from Mayfield, Kentucky dated January 7, 1862 describing Union and Confederate army activities in the region and Camp Beauregard, an undated letter from Roaring Springs, Kentucky describing the shooting and death of Thomas Nance by Isaac Greenwade and a series of correspondence from Roderic T. Nance of Jackson County, Texas from 1846 to 1856. In addition to the correspondence are family histories, a handwritten history of Woodville, Kentucky and photocopied receipts from the 1830s to the 1860s.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
            Nance family.
            Nance, Roderic T.
            Nance, Bedford C.
            Nance, Elizabeth
            Blane, Celia Ann
            Durett family.
            Durrett, George Colman
            Durrett, G. W.
            Massie family.
            Royster family.
            McLean County (Ill.)
            Christian County (Ky.)
            Trigg County (Ky)
            Roaring Springs (Ky.)
            Woodville (Ky.) – History.
            Trenton (Ky.)
            Jackson County (Tex.) – History.
            Livingston County (Mo.)
            New Kent County (Vir.)
            Camp Beauregard (Ky.)

Box List

Box 1:

1. Royster- Massie Families

2. Durrett Family

3. Nance Family Papers

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152