Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS71-06 Robert A. Everett Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Robert A. Everett Papers

Collection Title: Robert A. Everett Papers
 
Series Number: 71-06
 
Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.
 
Date Listed: 1971. No exact date listed.
 
Date Span: 1958-1969
 
Size of Collection: 318.5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 637 legal size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, speeches, case files, newspaper clippings, campaign materials and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading to some documents caused by improper storage and lack of climate control.
 
Arrangement: Organized into series; chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Robert Ashton “Fats” Everett was born on February 24, 1915 on a farm near Union City, Tennessee. He was a 1936 graduate of Murray State College (presently Murray State University) and in 1938 was elected as Obion County Circuit Court Clerk. He served in the United States Army during the Second World War. Following the war, he was an administrative assistant to Senator Thomas Stewart from 1945 to 1949 and to Governor Gordon Browning from 1950 to 1952. Afterwards, he became executive secretary of the Tennessee County Services Association. In 1958, Everett won a special election to the Eighth Congressional District after the death of Congressman Jere Cooper. He served the balance of Cooper's term and five subsequent terms. He died in office on January 26, 1969.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of records compiled and retained by Robert Ashton “Fats” Everett when he served in the United State House of Representatives from 1958 to 1969. The collection contains correspondence from constituents, speeches, military service case files, personal case files, legislative drafts and bills, campaign materials, appointment books, newspaper clippings and miscellaneous ephemera related to the activities of Congressman Everett. The bulk of the legislative materials held in the collection focus upon veteran affairs, labor unions, agriculture and taxes.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Everett, Robert A., 1915-1969
Politicians – United States – Tennessee.
Legislators – United States – Tennessee.
United States – Politics and government – 1958-1969.
Tennessee – Politics and government.
Taxation – Law and legislation.
Veterans – Law and legislation.
Veterans – Service for – United States.
Agricultural laws and legislation – United States.
 
Additional Sources: See Memorial services held in the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States, together with remarks presented in eulogy of Robert A. Everett

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152