Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS71-02 William Forrester Foster: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

William Forrester Foster Papers

Collection Title: William Forrester Foster

 

Series Number: 71-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Cecilia Droege.

 

Date Listed: 1971. No exact date listed.

 

Date Span: 1953-1966

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings and press releases.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by type of material; chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: William Forrester Foster was born in a log cabin in Graves County, Kentucky on August 1, 1895. He attended public schools and after graduating high school entered Mayfield Business College. He began working as a stock boy at the Merit Clothing Company in 1915. By 1938, he had risen through the ranks to president of the multi-million dollar firm. In 1953 and 1954, he was the campaign manager of United States Senator Alben Barkley. Foster was a University of Kentucky Board of Trustee member from 1956 until his death in 1967. In 1966, he received the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Award. Foster died on February 28, 1967.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied correspondence, newspaper clippings and press releases associated with Mayfield, Kentucky businessman William Forrester Foster from 1953 to 1966. The bulk of the collection focuses upon Foster receiving the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Award in 1966. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Foster, William Forrester, 1895-1967.

Merit Clothing Company (Mayfield, Ky.)

Mayfield (Ky.)

Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans.

Businessmen – Kentucky – Mayfield.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Correspondence- 1953-1954
  2. Correspondence- 1955-1956
  3. Correspondence- 1957-1958
  4. Correspondence- 1959-1965
  5. Correspondence- Undated
  6. Newspaper Clippings- W.F. Foster’s Activities
  7. Newspaper Clippings- General Tire and Rubber Company’s New Mayfield Plant
  8. Newspaper Clippings- Religious Activities
  9. Newspaper Clippings- Merit Clothing Company
  10. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous
  11. Mementos
  12. Horatio Alger Award- Correspondence Press Releases
  13. Newspaper Clippings- Alben W. Barkley
  14. Letters of Congratulations from Public Officials 1966
  15. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  16. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  17. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  18. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  19. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  20. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  21. Letters of Congratulations 1966
  22. Horatio Alger Award, Acceptance of May 23, 1966

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152