Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS70-02 American Association of University Women - Murray Branch Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

American Association of University Women - Murray Branch

Collection Title: American Association of University Women – Murray Branch Records

 

Series Number: MS70-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed in 1970. No exact date listed. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich in early June of 2011

 

Date Listed: Listed first of February 18, 2010. Relisted on June 13, 2011.

 

Date Span: 1933-1991

 

Size of Collection: 3.75 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 5 legal size document cases; 1 legal size half document case and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, records, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized in alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The American Association of University Women was established 1881 in Boston, Massachusetts for the advancement of equity for women and girls through advocacy, education and research. The branch at Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) was founded in 1933 and was the seventh branch organized in the State of Kentucky. The founder of the local branch was Mary Moss Carr, the wife of the first president of Murray State Normal School.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of the organizational records of the Murray State University Branch of the American Association of University Women from 1933 to 1991. The collection contains correspondence (1949-1985), constitution and by-laws (1950-1975), meeting minutes (1967-1985), meeting agendas (1979-1984), budgets and treasury reports (1967-1981), scrapbooks (1940s-1950s), yearbooks (1933-1991), newspaper clippings and histories of the Murray branch. Records included regional reports (1941-1960), membership reports (1949-1969) to the national conference (1950-1960), press releases (1983-1984), photographs and information related to the state convention held at Murray in 1982.  

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Arts in Kentucky 1959
  2. Branch Leaders
  3. Branch Projects 1945-1959
  4. Branch Reports 1957-1960
  5. Branch Reports 1960-1961
  6. Branch Reports 1961-1964
  7. Branch Reports 1971-1985
  8. Budgets
  9. By-Laws 1934
  10. By-Laws 1950
  11. By-Laws 1958
  12. By-Laws 1963
  13. By-Laws 1964
  14. By-Laws 1973
  15. By-Laws 1975
  16. By-Laws no dates
  17. Committee on Structure 1961-1962
  18. Correspondence 1949-1951
  19. Correspondence 1957
  20. Correspondence 1958
  21. Correspondence 1959
  22. Correspondence 1960
  23. Correspondence 1961
  24. Correspondence 1962

Box 2

  1. Correspondence 1963-1972
  2. Correspondence 1973-1975
  3. Correspondence 1976-1977
  4. Correspondence 1978-1979
  5. Correspondence 1980-1981
  6. Correspondence 1982-1985
  7. Correspondence no dates
  8. College Faculty Program 1961-1962
  9. Empowering Women 1983
  10. Ephemera
  11. E.R.A. 1980s
  12. Film Club 1963
  13. Grants
  14. Historical Digest –Kentucky Division
  15. History of Murray Branch – Typescript pages 1 – 50
  16. History of Murray Branch – Typescript pages 51 – 132

Box 3

  1. General Director’s Letter Volume XVIII Number 2 February 1951
  2. General Director’s Letter Volume XVIII Number 1 November 1950
  3. General Director’s Letter Volume XVII Number 3 April 1950
  4. General Director’s Letter Volume XVII Number 2 February 1950
  5. General Director’s Letter Volume XVII Number 1 November 1949
  6. General Director’s Letter Volume XVI Number 3 April 1949
  7. General Director’s Letter Volume XVI Number 2 February 1949
  8. General Director’s Letter Volume XVI Number 1 November 1948
  9. General Director’s Letter Volume XV Number 3 May 1948
  10. General Director’s Letter Volume XV Number 2 March 1948
  11. General Director’s Letter Volume XI Number 2 March 10, 1944
  12. General Director’s Letter Volume XIII Number 1 December 1945
  13. General Director’s Letter Volume XIII Number 2 March 1946
  14. General Director’s Letter Volume XV Number 1 November 1947
  15. General Director’s Letter Volume XIII Number 3 May 1946
  16. General Director’s Letter Volume XIV Number 1 October 1946
  17. General Director’s Letter Volume XIV Number 2 January 1947

Box 4

  1. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVI Number 1 November 1958
  2. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVI Number 2 February 1959
  3. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVI Number 3 April 1959
  4. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVII Number 1 February 1959
  5. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVII Number 2 February 1960
  6. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVII Number 3 June 1960
  7. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVIII Number 2 February 1961
  8. General Director’s Letter Volume XXVIII Number 3 April 1961
  9. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIX Number 1 February 1961
  10. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIX Number 2 February 1962
  11. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIX Number 3 April 1962
  12. General Director’s Letter Volume XXX Number 1 September 1962
  13. General Director’s Letter Volume XXX Number 2 February 1963
  14. General Director’s Letter Volume XXX Number 3 April 1963
  15. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXXI Number 1 November 1963
  16. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXI Number 2 February 1964
  17. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXI Number 3 February 1964
  18. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXII Number 2 February 1965
  19. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXIV Number 2 February 1967
  20. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXIV Number 3 April 1967
  21. General Director’s Letter Volume XXXV Number 3 April 1968

Box 5

  1. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIV Number 3 April 1957
  2. General Director’s Letter Volume XXV Number 1 November 1957
  3. General Director’s Letter Volume XXV Number 2 April 1958
  4. General Director’s Letter Volume XIX Number 1 November 1951
  5. General Director’s Letter Volume XIX Number 2 January 1952
  6. General Director’s Letter Volume XIX Number 3 April 1952
  7. General Director’s Letter Volume XX Number 1 November 1952
  8. General Director’s Letter Volume XX Number 2 January 1953
  9. General Director’s Letter Volume XX Number 3 April 1953
  10. General Director’s Letter Volume XXI Number 1 November 1953
  11. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIV Number 1 November 1956
  12. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIV Number 2 February 1957
  13. General Director’s Letter Volume XXI Number 2 February 1954
  14. General Director’s Letter Volume XXI Number 3 April 1954
  15. General Director’s Letter Volume XXII Number 1 November 1954
  16. General Director’s Letter Volume XXII Number 2 February 1955
  17. General Director’s Letter Volume XXII Number 3 April 1955
  18. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIII Number 1 November 1955
  19. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIII Number 2 February 1956
  20. General Director’s Letter Volume XXIII Number 3 April 1956

Box 6

  1. Branch Report – Childhood Education 1941-1945
  2. Branch Report – Childhood Education 1946-1950
  3. Branch Report – Childhood Education 1951-1957
  4. Conference Meetings – Ephemera 1947-1957
  5. Discussion Programs – Equal Rights Amendment 1952 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152