Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS70-01 Joseph S. Freeland Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Joseph S. Freeland Papers

Collection Title: Joseph S. Freeland Papers
 
Series Number: 70-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.
 
Date Listed: 1970. No exact date listed.
 
Date Span: 1939-1967
 
Size of Collection: 4.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 8 legal size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, legal documents, case files and newspaper clippings.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading from improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of case file. Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Joseph Stephen Freeland was a labor and civil rights attorney that practiced law in Paducah, Kentucky from 1938 to 1992. He was born in Paducah on March 19, 1915. He attended local public schools and graduated Tilghman High School in 1932. For the next two years, he studied at Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) before being admitted to law school at the University of Kentucky. Freeland received a degree in law in 1938 and began a legal practice in Paducah later that year. Not long after his return to Paducah, he became involved in the city’s Socialist Party and ran unsuccessfully campaigns for city judge, city commissioner and United States Representative during 1940s. From 1949 to 1953, he represented the Paducah Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and was the co-founder of the Kentucky Civil Liberties Union in 1955. He was appointed to the state Workman’s Compensation Board by Governor Bert Combs in 1959 and held that position until 1967. He continued practicing law in Kentucky until his retirement in 1992.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and case files that Paducah, Kentucky attorney Joseph S. Freeland deliberated before the state and federal courts from the 1940s to the 1960s. The bulk of the collection focuses upon labor disputes between union members and corporations that operated in the State of Kentucky. Included with the case files are legal documents, materials used as evidence, newspaper clippings and related items to trial proceedings. A brief autobiography accompanies the collection.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Freeland, Joseph Stephen, 1915-
Labor unions – Law and legislation – Kentucky.
Employees – Law and legislation – Kentucky.
Grievance arbitration – Kentucky.
 
Box List

Box 1 

  1. Freeland, Joseph Stephen
  2. Central Labor Union ads Gerald Wise, etc….

Box 2

  1. Hotel and Restaurant Employees ads. Henry Lambert et al.
  2. From Worker Local 595 ads Floyd Oldham
  3. United Packinghouse Workers, Local 581 et al, ads. Thelma Perkins, et al.
  4. In re Int’l Typo Union No. 134
  5. UAW Local 1068, et al. ads. Tappan Stove Co.
  6. Information on Paducah locals ILGW; Ironworkers; UAW; United Packinghouse workers; Hotel and Restaurant employees
  7. International Ladies’ Garment Workers Union ads. The CBS Dress Co.

Box 3

  1. W.B. Sanders ads.
  2. Glenn Smith, W.S. McCloud and Sanders ads (Calvert City cov.- explosion)
  3. Glenn Smith, W.S. McCloud ads (Lone Oak case)
  4. Int’l Brotherhood of Boiler-Makers Cases –
  5. Workers Defense League

Box 4

  1. Commonwealth of Kentucky v. John Raymond Uwaniwich, Alias Indian Joe 1959
  2. Charlie Shepard v. Harry G. McElwee, Et. Al. May 6, 1947
  3. Harry Mason v. Wayne C. Seaton, Mayor, Et. Al. December 10, 1946
  4. Curlee Brown v. Ross, Et. Al. February 19, 1957
  5. Charles Copeland, Et. Al. v. Polynesian Arts, Inc. January 23, 1959
  6. Polynesian Arts, Inc. v. Local 581 of the United Packinghouse Workers of America
  7. James R. Shelton, Et. Al. v. Polynesian Arts, Inc.
  8. National Labor Relation Board Cases 9-RC-988 and 9-RD-89 involving Magnavox Company of Paducah, Ky. And Local 172 of Office Employees International Union AFL

Box 5

  1. Place with Freeland Papers
  2. Local Union 559 of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America; and Herbert Bridges and Robert C. Newman v. F.H. McGraw and Co. June 11, 1955
  3. Robert C. Newman v. M.W. Kellogg Co. August 3, 1961 (Carpenters Local 559 involved)
  4. Carpenters Local 559 of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America v. Huron Contracting Company April 22, 1955
  5. J.O. Piper v. A.L. Schulman Electric Co. August 3, 1961 (Carpenters Local 559 involved)
  6. W. Willard of Wirtz, Sec. of Labor, U.S. Dept. of Labor v. Local Union 559, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America January 3, 1966
  7. W. Willard Wirtz, Sec. of Labor, U.S. Dept. of Labor v. Local Union 559, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America January 3, 1966
  8. Herbert Bridges v. F.H. McGraw and Co. February 24, 1961 (Carpenters Local 559 involved)
  9. Herbert Bridges v. F.H. McGraw and Co. February 24, 1961 (Carpenters Local 559 involved) Correspondence and exhibits re case
  10. Herbert Bridges v. F.H. McGraw and Co. February 24, 1961 (Carpenters Local 559 involved) Correspondence and exhibits re case

Box 6

  1. Machinists, Int’l Ass’n of ads. Penn. Salt Mfg. Co., Inc.
  2. Yellow Cab Corp. of Paducah v. Local No. 236 of the Internat. Brotherhood of Teamsters etc. Et. Al. December 5, 1955
  3. Norman L. Wilson v. International Association of Machinists, Et. Al. Sept. 9, “55
  4. Ralph Basse, Et. Al. etc. v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters etc, Et. Al. January 1952
  5. Paducah Bus Company Case
  6. Greyhound Bus Strike Case
  7. Teamsters Local Union #236

Box 7

  1. Forest Hills Case
  2. In re Congressional Redistricting
  3. City of Paducah- Apportionments Ordinance Case
  4. City Affairs
  5. City of Paducah- Payroll Tax Case
  6. Ky. Council on Human Relations
  7. Crofton School Case
  8. Mayfield School Integration Case
  9. McCracken County School Board Integration Suit

Box 8

  1. Deena Artware Appeal [6th Circuit] Correspondence file
  2. Deena Artware Federal Courtcase
  3. Deena Artware Case

Box 9

  1. Legislative Reapportionment Schmied v. Combs, 1962.
  2. Legislative Reapportionment Schmied v. Combs, 1962.
  3. Legislative Reapportionment Schmied v. Combs, 1962.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152