Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS69-07 Wayne W. Freeman Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Wayne W. Freeman Papers

Collection Title: Wayne W. Freeman Papers

 

Series Number: MS69-07

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: January 26, 2010

 

Date Span: 1951-1993

 

Size of Collection: 3.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 5 legal sized document cases and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, typescript speeches, newspaper clippings, photographs and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some deterioration, fading and foxing with older materials.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Wayne W. Freeman served as a Kentucky state senator for the First District from 1951 to 1967. He also served as a state representative for Graves County from 1936 to 1940. Freeman was born on December 25, 1912 near Symsonia, Kentucky. He graduated of Symsonia High School in 1933 and a received a bachelor’s degree in education from Murray State Teachers College (Murray State University) in 1936. He later attended Georgetown University Law School and the Jefferson School of Law (University of Louisville). He began practicing law in Mayfield, Kentucky in 1948. Freeman also served three terms as railroad commissioner and served as a delegate to the 1960 and 1968 Democratic National conventions. He died at age 83 in Mayfield.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspapers clippings, typescript speeches and photographs collected and retained by former Kentucky state senator Wayne W. Freeman from 1951 to 1993. The bulk of the materials held in the collection date from 1957 to 1959. Included in the papers are subject files containing newspapers clippings on: the rebel Democrats in the state legislature; highway commission and road construction; the Ripper Bill; tax legislation; the 1958-1959 campaign for governor and lieutenant governor; and files on prominent state and national politicians.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Kentucky – Politics and government – 1951-

Politicians – Kentucky.

Political culture – Kentucky – History.

Freeman, Wayne W., 1912-1996

 

Additional Sources: Not applicable.

 

Research Notes: Open to the public for educational research. Reproduction restrictions may apply due to deteriorating conditions of the originals. Check for copyright restrictions.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Biographical Information
  2. Campaign Flyers- Various Candidates 1950s
  3. Correspondence May-August, 1951
  4. Correspondence 1952-1955
  5. Correspondence- Campaign Supporters August 11-13, 1955
  6. Correspondence- Campaign Supporters August 15, 1955
  7. Correspondence- Campaign Supporters August 17-26, 1955
  8. Correspondence- Campaign Supporters September-October, 1955
  9. Correspondence 1956
  10. Correspondence January-March, 1957
  11. Correspondence April 1957
  12. Correspondence May, 1957
  13. Correspondence June, 1957
  14. Correspondence July-August 1957
  15. Correspondence September-December 1957
  16. Correspondence- Miscellaneous 1957
  17. Correspondence January 1958
  18. Correspondence February 1-17, 1958
  19. Correspondence February 18-28, 1958
  20. Correspondence March 1-13 1958

Box 2

  1. Correspondence March 14-30 1958
  2. Correspondence April-December, 1958
  3. Correspondence 1959
  4. Correspondence 1960
  5. Correspondence 1961
  6. Correspondence 1962
  7. Correspondence 1963
  8. Correspondence 1964
  9. Correspondence 1965
  10. Correspondence 1966
  11. Correspondence 1967-1968
  12. Correspondence 1980-1989
  13. Correspondence No Dates
  14. County Officials- First Railroad District
  15. Ephemera
  16. Highway Commission- Correspondence 1960-1961
  17. Highway Commission- Correspondence 1962
  18. Highway Commission- Correspondence 1966
  19. Highway Commission- Press releases, newspaper clippings, notices, etc. 1952-1960

Box 3

  1. Legal Documents- Affidavit in regards to firing of Jennie Freeman 1958
  2. Legal Documents- Estates
  3. List of Names- Various Organizations
  4. Loose Papers No Dates
  5. Newspaper Clippings- National Politics 1956-1959
  6. Newspaper Clippings- Rebel Democrats 1958-1959
  7. Newspaper Clippings- Ripper Bill 1958
  8. Newspaper Clippings- Road Construction 1958-1959
  9. Newspaper Clippings- Road Construction 1958-1959
  10. Newspaper Clippings- Special Legislative Session 1958
  11. Newspaper Clippings- State Budget 1958
  12. Newspaper Clippings- State Police Bill 1958
  13. Newspaper Clippings- Tax Legislation 1958
  14. Newspaper Clippings- Veterans Bill 1958
  15. Newspaper Clippings- Harry Lee Waterfield campaign for Governor 1958-1959
  16. Newspapers Clippings- Wilson W. Wyatt Campaign for Governor 1958-1959
  17. Newspaper Campaign Ads- Various Candidates 1950s

Box 4

  1. Newspaper Campaign Ads- Wayne W. Freeman
  2. Newspaper Clippings- Campaign for Lieutenant Governor 1958-1959
  3. Newspaper Clippings- Governor Albert Benjamin “Happy” Chandler 1957-1959
  4. Newspaper Clippings- Albert Benjamin “Happy” Chandler 1957-1959
  5. Newspaper Clippings- Bert Combs Campaign for Governor 1959
  6. Newspaper Clippings- Bert Combs Campaign for Governor 1959
  7. Newspaper Clippings- Slayton W. Douthitt
  8. Newspaper Clippings- Virginia “Jennie” Freeman 1958-1959
  9. Newspaper Clippings- Wayne W. Freeman
  10. Newspaper Clippings- Wayne W. Freeman
  11. Newspaper Clippings- Wayne W. Freeman 1951-1990
  12. Newspaper Clippings- Elwood Gordon No Date
  13. Newspaper Clippings- Governor’s Race 1959
  14. Newspaper Clippings- Noble J. Gregory vs. Frank Stubblefield 1958
  15. Newspaper Clippings- Health and Welfare 1958-1959
  16. Newspaper Clippings- Labor Unions 1958
  17. Newspaper Clippings- Legislative Bills 1958
  18. Newspaper Clippings- Legislative Bribery Scandal 1958
  19. Newspaper Clippings- Legislative Process 1958

Box 5

  1. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous 1954-1957
  2. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous January-July 1958
  3. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous August-December, 1958
  4. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous 1959-1962
  5. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous No Dates
  6. Wayne W. Freeman Paper Newspapers- World War II 1943
  7. Political Party Leaders- Kentucky Congressional Districts No Dates
  8. Speech- Keen Johnson No Date
  9. Speeches 1951-1956
  10. Thesis- Law School 1944
  11. Photographs- Conventions
  12. Photographs- Freeman Family
  13. Photograph- Wayne W. Freeman
  14. Photographs- Governors from other States 1987-1988
  15. Photographs- Kentucky Politicians 1950s-1980s
  16. Photographs- National Politicians 1970s-1980s
  17. Photographs- Wilson Wyatt
  18. Photographs- Miscellaneous

Box 6

  1. Photographs of Kentucky senate ca. 1950s, Large masonic logo, and misc. honors.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152