Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS 16-09 Merryman Kemp Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Merryman Kemp Papers

Collection Title: Merryman Kemp Papers

 

 

Series Number: MS16-09

 

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Sarai Dunn

 

Date Span: 1920s - 2010s

 

 

Size of Collection: 12.5 linear feet.

 

 

Number of Boxes: 25

 

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, ephemera

 

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

 

Biographical / Historical Information:  J. Merryman Kemp is the founder of the Merryman House in Paducah, Kentucky.  She was born at Dyersburg, Tennessee in 1934.  She is a leader in the Paducah Democratic Party.  In 1988 and 1992, she was a delegate in the Democratic National Convention.  Kemp is a strong believer in equal rights; therefore, she supported the ERA.  She was a member of many democratic and women’s clubs in Paducah. These clubs include the Business and Professional Women’s Club, the Twenty-First Century Democratic Club, the Alben Barkley Democratic Club, the Democratic Women’s Club and the Women’s Club of Paducah.  In 1988, Merryman Kemp founded the Kemp Financial Services, which would later be called Kemp Financial Management, LLC.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, handwritten notes and photographs.  It contains papers on the Business and Professional Women’s Club, Twenty-First Century Democratic Club, Alben Barkley Democratic Club, Democratic Women’s Club and the Women’s Club of Paducah.  Includes information from political figures and events

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Box List 16-09 Merryman Kemp

Box 1:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Business and Professional Women’s Club
  2. Business and Professional Women’s Club (cont.)
  3. Agenda 1980s
  4. Agenda 1990s
  5. Agenda 2000s-Unknown
  6. Articles
  7. Articles (cont.)
  8. Awards
  9. “Between the Rivers”
  10. Brochures
  11. “Business Woman”
  12. Bylaws
  13. Candidates Forum
  14. Certificates

Box 2:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Clippings
  2. Contract
  3. Contact Info
  4. Conventions
  5. Convention May 21-23, 1999
  6. Convention May 18-20, 2001
  7. Director’s Minutes 1928-1930
  8. Directors Meeting Minute Book 1937-1945
  9. Diversity on the Go 2000-2002
  10. Diversity on the Go October 2004-June 2006
  11. Diversity on the Go July 2006-December 2007
  12. Diversity on the Go January 2008-January 2009

Box 3:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Ephemera
  2. Equal Pay
  3. Etiquette
  4. Events
  5. Exposition 1935
  6. “Express Lines”
  7. Famous Kentucky Women
  8. History
  9. Individual Development
  10. Interim Board
  11. Interim Board 2000
  12. Interim Board 2001
  13. Interim Board Meeting 2002
  14. Interim Board Meeting 2005
  15. Leadership Manual 1989-1990
  16. Leadership Manual 1990-1991

Box 4:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Leadership Manual 1999-2000
  2. Leadership Manual 2002-2003
  3. Leadership Manual 2005-2006
  4. Leadership Tools
  5. Legislation
  6. Legislative Award
  7. Legislative Platform 2002
  8. Legislative Platform 2003-2004
  9. Legislative Report 1989
  10. Legislative Report 2002-2003
  11. Legislative Report 2004-2005
  12. Making Workplaces Work
  13. Manual
  14. Meeting Info 1928-1930

Box 5:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Membership Lists
  2. Misc.
  3. Misc. 2
  4. Minutes 1924-1928
  5. Minutes 1928-1931
  6. Minutes 1980s
  7. Minutes 1990s
  8. Minutes 2000s-Unknown
  9. “National Business Woman”
  10. “National Business Women’s Week”

Box 6:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Newsletter
  2. Notes
  3. Notes (cont.)
  4. Photos
  5. Political Action Committees Guide
  6. Political Campaign Handbook
  7. Presentation Sheets
  8. Programs
  9. Rape Crisis Centers

Box 7:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. Regular Business Meeting Minute Book 1937-1944
  2. Releases
  3. Reports 1924-1940
  4. Reports 1965-Unknown
  5. Scrapbooking Clips
  6. Share Committee
  7. Strategic Plan
  8. “The Bulletin” 1980s
  9. “The Bulletin” 1990s-2000s
  10. “The Estate Planner”
  11. “The Kentucky Cardinal” 1940-April 1962
  12. “The Kentucky Cardinal” May 1962-October 1964

Box 8:  Business and Professional Women’s Club

  1. “The Kentucky Cardinal” 1981-2000
  2. “The Kentucky Cardinal” 2001-2007
  3. “The Kentucky Cardinal” Info
  4. “The Network”
  5. Treasurer’s Info
  6. Treasurer’s Info (cont.)
  7. Women’s Use on Health Care
  8. Young Careerist

Box 9:  Correspondence

  1. Correspondence 1920
  2. Correspondence 1921
  3. Correspondence 1923
  4. Correspondence 1924
  5. Correspondence 1925
  6. Correspondence 1926
  7. Correspondence 1927
  8. Correspondence 1928
  9. Correspondence 1929
  10. Correspondence 1930
  11. Correspondence 1931
  12. Correspondence 1932
  13. Correspondence 1933
  14. Correspondence 1935
  15. Correspondence 1950
  16. Correspondence 1954
  17. Correspondence 1970
  18. Correspondence 1978
  19. Correspondence 1979
  20. Correspondence 1980
  21. Correspondence 1981
  22. Correspondence 1982
  23. Correspondence 1983
  24. Correspondence 1984
  25. Correspondence 1985
  26. Correspondence 1986
  27. Correspondence 1987
  28. Correspondence January-July 7, 1988

Box 10:  Correspondence

  1. Correspondence July 8-Unknown 1988
  2. Correspondence 1989
  3. Correspondence 1990
  4. Correspondence January-April 1991
  5. Correspondence May-December 1991
  6. Correspondence January-August 1992
  7. Correspondence September-December 1992
  8. Correspondence January-June 1993
  9. Correspondence July-December 1993

  Box 11:  Correspondence

  1. Correspondence 1994
  2. Correspondence 1995
  3. Correspondence 1996
  4. Correspondence 1997
  5. Correspondence 1998
  6. Correspondence 1999
  7. Correspondence 2000
  8. Correspondence January-March 2001
  9. Correspondence April-December 2001

Box 12:  Correspondence

  1. Correspondence 2002
  2. Correspondence 2003
  3. Correspondence 2004
  4. Correspondence 2005
  5. Correspondence 2006
  6. Correspondence 2007
  7. Correspondence 2008-2015
  8. Correspondence Unknown
  9. Correspondence Unknown (Cont.)

Box 12A:  Education/Emancipation/Family

  1. Child Care
  2. Career Transition Center
  3. Emancipation Celebration 1996
  4. Emancipation Celebration 1999
  5. Family Self Sufficiency
  6. Kentucky Tomorrow
  7. NAACP
  8. Preparatory Services
  9. Spouse Abuse Centers
  10. Teaching Strategies
  11. “Teaching Tolerance”
  12. Ten Ways to Fight Hate
  13. The West Kentucky News
  14. West Kentucky Technical College
  15. Youth Salute
  16. YWCA

Box 13:  Human Rights Commission

  1. Human Rights Commission
  2. Agenda
  3. Annual Report 1986-1987
  4. Annual Report 1988-1989
  5. Civil Rights Act
  6. Director’s Reports
  7. “Human Rights Report”
  8. Members
  9. Minutes
  10. Notes
  11. Staff Report August 1985
  12. Staff Report June 1986
  13. Staff Report September 1986

Box 14:  Insurance

  1. Insurance
  2. Anthem (1999-2000)
  3. Benefit Management Systems, Inc.
  4. BISYS (2000-2001)
  5. Blue Cross
  6. Ceres Group, Inc.
  7. CNA Life (2000)
  8. Conseco (2000-2001)
  9. First Colony Life Insurance Company
  10. Fortis Insurance Company (2001)
  11. GE Financial Assurance
  12. Health Care Campaign
  13. Home Life Insurance Company (1991)
  14. IBM
  15. Info on COBRA
  16. Info on HR 676 (2003)
  17. Jack Benz and Associates, Inc. (2002)
  18. Kemp Financial Services
  19. Magazines and Articles (1995, 2000-2002)
  20. Medicare & You (2000)
  21. MedLink (2000-2001)
  22. Midwest Mergers and Acquisitions
  23. PALU
  24. PALU-Awards Guideline
  25. PALU-Newsletter
  26. PALU-Speakers Directory 1989
  27. Pamphlets on tests (1998)
  28. Protective Prescription Plan
  29. Retirement Plans
  30. Security Life of Denver (2008)
  31. Select Benefits
  32. Shaw American Financial Corporation (2002)
  33. Southland Life Insurance
  34. United American Insurance Company (1999-2000)
  35. United Healthcare 2000
  36. USA Financial
  37. Van Kampen
  38. Wealth Guardian
  39. Welfare Information Network

Box 15:  Misc.

  1. Advertisement
  2. “Agri-News”
  3. Articles-Misc.
  4. “CarrerLink”
  5. Christian Coalition
  6. Clippings
  7. Club Announcements
  8. “Connections”
  9. Contacts
  10. Friday Alert
  11. Fundraising-Max Hobbs
  12. Fundraising-The American Funds
  13. “In Context”
  14. “Kentucky Woman”
  15. Land Between the Lakes
  16. “Lone Oak News”
  17. Misc.
  18. Misc. 2
  19. Nominating Forms
  20. Notes
  21. “Outreach”
  22. Paducah Art Guild
  23. Polk
  24. Portfolio
  25. P.R.I.M.E.
  26. Resume
  27. “Smoke Signal”
  28. “Status”
  29. “Stepping Out”
  30. “The Bulletin of the Kentucky Historical Society”
  31. “TriadNews”

Box 16:  Politics

  1. Al Gore
  2. Alben Barkley Democratic Club
  3. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Agenda
  4. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Clippings
  5. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Minutes
  6. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Newsletter
  7. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Notes
  8. Alben Barkley Democratic Club-Releases
  9. Articles
  10. Bob Babbage
  11. Candidate Biographical Sheets
  12. Chris Gorman
  13. Clinton-Gore Campaign Materials
  14. Clintons
  15. Clippings
  16. Contact Info

Box 17:  Politics

  1. Contact Info (cont.)
  2. Delegate Seletion Plan 1988
  3. Democratic Candidates 1986
  4. Democratic Candidates 1991
  5. Democratic Candidates 1995
  6. Democratic Candidates 1996
  7. Democratic Candidates 2000
  8. Democratic National Convention 1988
  9. Democratic National Convention 1992
  10. Democratic Presidential Election 1988
  11. Democratic Women’s Club
  12. Democratic Women’s Club-Agenda
  13. Democratic Women’s Club-Application
  14. Democratic Women’s Club-Booklet
  15. Democratic Women’s Club-Convention

Box 18:  Politics

  1. Democratic Women’s Club-Magazine
  2. Democratic Women’s Club-Minutes
  3. Democratic Women’s Club-Proposed Amendments
  4. “Democratic Women’s Club of Kentucky”
  5. Dennis Null
  6. Department of Agriculture
  7. Ed Whitfield
  8. ERA
  9. “Faces and Facts”
  10. Fred Cowan
  11. Gary C. Griesser
  12. Gender Equity
  13. George Bush
  14. “Get the Facts”
  15. “Grassroots”
  16. “Grassroots Campaign Training” Booklet
  17. “Grassroots Activist Training” Booklet
  18. HB 161
  19. Helen Garrett
  20. Helen Garrett Articles
  21. Helen Garrett Campaign Plan

Box 19:  Politics

  1. Helen Garrett Volunteers and Contact Info
  2. Higher Education Amendments
  3. House Bill 263
  4. H.R. 3734
  5. Jack Johnson
  6. Jim Byford
  7. Jim Wayne
  8. Kentucky Democratic Party
  9. Kentucky Women’s Political Caucus
  10. Larry Forgy
  11. Larry O’Bryan
  12. League of Women Voters
  13. Legislative Update
  14. Lee Steers
  15. Lee Steers Contact Info
  16. Lee Steers Possible Givers
  17. Lee Steers Target Report
  18. Magazines
  19. Mary Ray Oaken
  20. Mary Ruth Brannon
  21. Mayor-Council Plan
  22. McCracken County Democrats
  23. McCracken County Democrats-Election Finance Statement
  24. McCracken County Democrats-Notices
  25. McCracken County Democrats-Report of Receipts
  26. McCracken County Democrats-Resolution
  27. Michael J. Greene
  28. Misc.
  29. Newspapers
  30. Notes

Box 20:  Politics

  1. Occupation Info
  2. Opportunity Loan Fund
  3. Paul Patton
  4. Politics
  5. Power ‘98
  6. Prefiled Bills November 2, 1995
  7. Proclamations
  8. Public Service Seminar
  9. Releases
  10. Rick Johnson
  11. Statistics
  12. Steve Hamrick
  13. Steve Henry
  14. Steve Henry-Contacts
  15. Steve Henry-Notes
  16. Steven L. Beshear
  17. The ’96 Project
  18. “The Chairman’s Briefing”
  19. “The Democratic Voice”
  20. “The National Conference on Girls, Women and Money”
  21. Tom Barlow
  22. Tom Brook
  23. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club
  24. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Agenda
  25. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Announcements
  26. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Articles
  27. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Bylaws
  28. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Constitution
  29. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Minutes
  30. Twenty-First Century Democratic Club-Releases
  31. Voting Info
  32. Voting Info-Committee

Box 21:  Politics

  1. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats Arcadia-Country Club
  2. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats Florence Station-Jetton
  3. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats Lang-Maxon
  4. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats New Hope-Paxton Park
  5. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats Reed-Savage
  6. Voting Info-Master County Voter Lists of Democrats Wallace Park-Yancy
  7. Voting Info-Precinct Lists Arcadia-Paxton Park
  8. Voting Info-Precinct Lists Reed-Concord
  9. Voting Info-Precinct Lists Florence-Hovekamp
  10. Voting Info-Precinct Lists Lamont-Oak Station
  11. Voting Info-Precinct Lists Ragland-Woodville
  12. Voting Info-State Board of Elections Lists
  13. Welfare
  14. Wendell H. Ford
  15. Will Shadoan
  16. Women
  17. Women’s Equity Action League

Box 22:  Women

  1. Equality Products
  2. Kentucky Commission on Women
  3. Kentucky Women Advocates
  4. TWN-PAN
  5. Women
  6. Women-Brochures
  7. Women-Clippings
  8. Women-Clippings (cont.)
  9. Women-Contacts
  10. Women-Sex Equity in Sports
  11. Women Aware
  12. Women Aware-Clippings
  13. Women Aware-Contacts
  14. Women Aware-Notes

Box 23:  Women

  1. Woman’s Club of Paducah
  2. Woman’s Club of Paducah (Cont.)
  3. Woman’s Club of Paducah (Cont. 2)
  4. Woman’s Club of Paducah – Art Show
  5. Woman’s Club of Paducah – Art Show (Cont.)

Box 24:  Women

  1. Woman’s Club of Paducah – Guest Books
  2. Woman’s Club of Paducah – Newspaper Clippings
  3. Woman’s Club of Paducah – Newspaper Clippings (Cont.)
  4. Woman’s Club of Paducah – “The Kentucky Clubwoman” (Fall 2000-Winter 2003)
  5. Woman’s Club of Paducah – “The Kentucky Clubwoman” (Fall 2004-Unknown)
  6. Woman’s Club of Paducah - Yearbook
  7. Women’s Coalition

Special Collections & University Archives