Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS15-04 New Century Hotel: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

New Century Hotel

Collection Title: New Century Hotel

 

Series Number: MS15-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Sarah Hopley

 

Date Span: 1950 - 1990s

 

Size of Collection: .5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, articles, history of town and hotel

 

Arrangement: Arranged in manner in which it was donated to the library

 

Biographical / Historical Information:  New Century Hotel in Dawson Springs, KY was built in 1902. It was built to support the visitors who came to Dawson Springs for the springs, and later, health resorts. It was also used by baseball teams who trained in Dawson Springs, including the Pittsburgh Pirates. It had 150 rooms, a ballroom, its own electric plant and a dining room. It was destroyed by a fire in March 1960.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of articles, research, and history of both the hotel and the town of Dawson Springs. Also contains memories of Annie Evelyn Gurley Crockett, who was the daughter of the people who died in a murder-suicide at the hotel in May 1955.

 

Box List:

 

Box 1‚Äč

  1. Articles
  2. Annie Evelyn Gurley Crockett
  3. Gurley Blue Genealogy
  4. Dawson Springs History
  5. Kentucky Springs Research
  6. Newspaper articles

Special Collections & University Archives