Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS15-02 Irma Collins Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Irma Collins Papers

Collection Title: Irma Collins Papers

 

Series Number: MS15-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Sarai Dunn

 

Date Span: 1970s - 2010s

 

Size of Collection: 2.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 5

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, Newspaper articles, Photographs, Ephemera

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

Biographical / Historical Information:   Irma Collins was a professor of music at Murray State University from 1976 to 1993. She was born at Texarkana, Arkansas in 1930.  During her time at Murray State, Irma Collins taught the violin to the Gifted and Talented students of the Graves County School System.  Irma Collins currently lives in Winchester, Virginia.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, handwritten notes and photographs.  It contains papers on the Graves County Gifted and Talented program, notes from her classes, the Department of Music at Murray State, Music Educators National Conference, Singing Seniors, and the Sigma Alpha Iota of Murray State University.

 

Box List:

Box 1

  1. Articles and Clippings
  2. Background info on Irma Collins
  3. Barren County Schools Info
  4. Certificates
  5. Child’s Voice
  6. Choral Workshop
  7. Classes
  8. Classes (2)
  9. Classes (3)

Box 2

  1. Correspondence 1970-1982
  2. Correspondence 1983-1989
  3. Correspondence 1990s
  4. Correspondence 2000s
  5. Correspondence Unknown
  6. Creative Workshop Info
  7. “Current Attitudes…”
  8. Graves Gifted and Talented Program Info

Box 3

  1. Graves Gifted and Talented cont.
  2. Hanging of the Greens
  3. Hoffman Symposium
  4. Info on Caroline Kaye Jetton
  5. Info on Department of Music
  6. Kindermusik
  7. Magazines featuring Irma Collins
  8. MENC
  9. Misc.
  10. Murray Community Choir
  11. Notes (1)

Box 4

  1. Notes (2)
  2. Notes (3)
  3. Pictures
  4. Pictures (2)
  5. Pictures (3)

Box 5

  1. Programs
  2. SAI
  3. Sesquicentennial of Murray State
  4. Southeastern Journal of Music Education
  5. Southeastern Music Education Symposium
  6. Teaching Children to Sing
  7. Teaching Info
  8. The Crane Symposium
  9. The Singing Seniors

 

 

Special Collections & University Archives