Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS15-01 Ruth E. Cole Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Ruth E. Cole Collection

Collection Title: Ruth E. Cole Collection

 

Series Number: MS15-01

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Austin Desjardins

  

Date Span: 1923 - 2006

 

Size of Collection: 13 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 10 large acid free Boxes, 2 medium acid free archival box, 1 small acid free archival box, 2 oversized archival boxes. 

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, research and subject files, photographs, genealogical

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by likeness and in the original order that it was brought to the library

 

Biographical / Historical Information:  Ruth E. Cole served as chairperson of the Department of Nursing at Murray State University from 1954 to 1977. She was born on October 15, 1920 at Harris Grove in Calloway County, Kentucky. She graduated Lynn Grove High School in 1939 and later that same year enrolled at Murray State College. She transferred to the Nazareth School of Nursing at St. Joseph Hospital in Lexington in 1941 where she received a nursing diploma in 1944. She was called to active duty in the United States Navy Nurse Corp just prior to the conclusion of the Second World War. Following the war, Cole returned to Murray where she worked as an office nurse for a local doctor. In 1947, she was hired as the first faculty member of the newly formed Department of Nursing at Murray State. During the summers of 1948 and 1949, she attended the University of Texas where she attained a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing Education. When the Korean War broke out in 1951, she was recalled to active duty and served at various stateside naval bases and aboard the U.S.S. Darby. After the Korean War, she attended Columbia University where she received a Master of Arts degree in Nursing Education in 1954. She returned to Murray State later that year and was selected chairperson of the Department of Nursing. She held that position for 23 years. In 1973, she received a doctorate in Higher Education from Indiana University and in 1977 was named “Nurse Educator of the Year” by the Kentucky League for Nursing. In 1978, Cole accepted a position at Harding University as a professor in Nursing Education. She remained at Harding until 1980 when she returned to Murray and served as Program Director for the Murray-Calloway County Hospital Hospice Program. She retired a year later. Murray State named the nursing school’s auditorium in her honor in 1988 and in 1994 she was inducted into the Alumni Association Nursing Hall of Fame at the University of Texas. 

 

Scope and Content: The collection Consists of Genealogical Research, Genealogical Society information, and Murray State University Nursing History.

 

Box List:

 

Box 1 Genealogy A-G

1.            Abling- Eldridge

2.            Adams Family

3.            Adams Hall

4.            Adams- Howard- Boyd

5.            Adams- Stephens

6.            Armstrong Family

7.            Armstrong- Garrison

8.            Armstrong- Spilman

9.            Austin, Dr. Clegg

10.          Avert- Willoughby

11.          Baugh- Easley- Wren

12.          Beaman- Barton

13.          Belcher, Tim & Family

14.          Blalock

15.          Boyd

16.          Boyd- Farmer

17.          Boaz- Roland

18.          Broach, Robert

19.          Broach McClure

20.          Brumley

21.          Caldwell- Kelso- Beamab- Outland

22.          Cain- Farmer

23.          Camp- Miller

24.          Carter- Tidwell- Cooper

25.          Cavitt- Lamb

26.          Chambers Family

27.          Chambers, Leon- Rogers Chambers

28.          Chester- Ross

29.          Clark, Jeffery

30.          Clark, Ray & Linda

31.          Clark- Wilkerson

32.          Cleaver

33.          Cochrum

34.          Cohoon- Cunningham

35.          Coleman- McClain

36.          Commodore- Jones

37.          Coone- Miller- James

38.          Cooper, Hewlett- Adams

39.          Cooper, R.L.- Erwin

40.          Cooper- Spencer

41.          Cooper, Roger's Family

42.          Crane- Barnett

43.          Crawford, Dennis- Jean

44.          Crawford Family

45.          Crouch- Brumley

46.          Crouch- Boyett

47.          Crouch- Sims

48.          Denham, Grahm- Dunaway

49.          Dixon- Kimbro

50.          Dodds

51.          Dorom

52.          Douglas, Emma- Knight

53.          Douglas, Fred

54.          Douglass Family

55.          Dowdy, Louis

56.          Dowthett- Pickard

57.          Dunn

58.          Eaker- Hay

59.          Eaker- Humphrey

60.          England, Ronnie

61.          England, WM, John, Tom

62.          Erwin, Hampton- Harris

63.          Erwin Family

64.          Erwin, Hub- Bazzell

65.          Erwin- James

66.          Erwin- Outland

67.          Erwin, James- Warren

68.          Fain- Key

69.          Fain- Miller

70.          Fain, Dan- Rogers

71.          Farris- Carroway- Adair- Murdock

72.          Farris- Howard

73.          Foy- Paschall

74.          Frensley- Howard

75.          Furches- Family

76.          Galloway Family

77.          Galloway- Farmer

78.          Galloway- Reynolds

79.          Galloway- Waterfield

80.          Galloway- White- Drake

81.          Galloway- Windsor- Wright

82.          Gingles- Starks Family

83.          Grahm- Swann

84.          Guier, Quint

85.          Gutherie- Beaman

Box 2 H-M

1.            Hale- Broach

2.            Hall- Kelso

3.            Halford

4.            Halford- Thompson

5.            Hall, Lenon- Paschall

6.            Hall, Ollie- McElrath

7.            Hamlin- Walford

8.            Harmeyer, Virginia

9.            Harding Family

10.          Harris Family

11.          Harris; D.C.-Camp

12.          Harris, James- Murdock

13.          Harris, Jesse- Owen

14.          Harris - Rogers

15.          Harris, Rufus- Swann

16.          James Coleman Hart Sr.

17.          Hendon

18.          Henley, Melvin- Family

19.          Hill- Miller

20.          Hooper, James- Poque

21.          Howard, Rudolph- Blaylock

22.          Howard, Boswell- Eaker

23.          Houston Family

24.          Hughes, Alton- Holland

25.          Hughes, Charlie- Chiriaco

26.          Hughes, Clara- Adams

27.          Hghes- Cooper

28.          Hughes, Herbert- Scherffivs

29.          Hughes, James- Chiriaco

30.          Hughes, Leav Nell- Alexander

31.          Hughes, O'Dell- Ivy

32.          Hughes, Thomas Jr.- Grogan

33.          Hughes, Tom- Lockhart

34.          Hughes, Vera May- Brodeur

35.          Huie- Barrow- Orr- Rickman

36.          Humphreys, Duell- Coleman- Garland

37.          Humphries- Burton

38.          Humphreys- Miles

39.          Jackson- Miller

40.          Jackson Family

41.          Jackson, Ronald- Lassiter

42.          Jackson, Wm. Alfred- Epperson, Nancy

43.          James- Clark

44.          Jones, Bunch- West, Lucile

45.          James, Commodore- Ray

46.          Jackson

47.          Jones, Cody M.D. & family

48.          Jones, Charlie- Sims

49.          Jones, Alvis Ed.- Cain

50.          Jones Elmbert Family

51.          Jones, Alvis-Erwin -Caldwell- Clark- Miller Alvis Edwards

52.          James, Robert- Swann Family

53.          Jones, Jasper- Swell, Rebecca

54.          Jones- Roberts

55.          Jones- Rogers

56.          Jones, Thelma- Thomas

57.          Kelso Family

58.          Key Gary- Lamb

59.          Key, John- Armstrong

60.          Key, Lowell Thomas- Bell

61.          Key, Lowell- Humphreys

62.          Key, Wallase- Harris Family

63.          Knight

64.          Lamb Black

65.          Lamb- Rogers

66.          Lassiter, W (Billy)- Dalton Family

67.          Lassiter, Vergil- Camp

68.          Lawrence, John Win- Dick

69.          Lee- Sims

70.          Lockhart, Charlie- Camp

71.          Dr. Conie Crittenden Lowry

72.          McCamish- Wrather

73.          McClain- Rogers- Towensend

74.          McKenzie- Axiotis

75.          McReynolds- Dick

76.          Marine- Bazzell

77.          Marquardt- Armbruster

78.          Mercer- Jones, Flossie

79.          Melvin, John T. - Harned

80.          Melvin- Morris- Swann

81.          Miller, George- Murdock

82.          Miller- Hall

83.          Miller- Richardson

84.          Murdock- Adams

85.          Mrdock, Bryan- Rogers

86.          Morton- Stokes

87.          Myers- Morton

88.          Myers Family

89.          Myers, Robert & Andrew- McCorkle

90.          Myers Robert, Jackson, Andrew "Jack"- McCorkle

Box 3 Genealogy N- end (W)

1.            Hale- Broach

2.            Hall- Kelso

3.            Halford

4.            Halford- Thompson

5.            Hall, Lenon- Paschall

6.            Hall, Ollie- McElrath

7.            Hamlin- Walford

8.            Harmeyer, Virginia

9.            Harding Family

10.          Harris Family

11.          Harris; D.C.-Camp

12.          Harris, James- Murdock

13.          Harris, Jesse- Owen

14.          Harris - Rogers

15.          Harris, Rufus- Swann

16.          James Coleman Hart Sr.

17.          Hendon

18.          Henley, Melvin- Family

19.          Hill- Miller

20.          Hooper, James- Poque

21.          Howard, Rudolph- Blaylock

22.          Howard, Boswell- Eaker

23.          Houston Family

24.          Hughes, Alton- Holland

25.          Hughes, Charlie- Chiriaco

26.          Hughes, Clara- Adams

27.          Hghes- Cooper

28.          Hughes, Herbert- Scherffivs

29.          Hughes, James- Chiriaco

30.          Hughes, Leav Nell- Alexander

31.          Hughes, O'Dell- Ivy

32.          Hughes, Thomas Jr.- Grogan

33.          Hughes, Tom- Lockhart

34.          Hughes, Vera May- Brodeur

35.          Huie- Barrow- Orr- Rickman

36.          Humphreys, Duell- Coleman- Garland

37.          Humphries- Burton

38.          Humphreys- Miles

39.          Jackson- Miller

40.          Jackson Family

41.          Jackson, Ronald- Lassiter

42.          Jackson, Wm. Alfred- Epperson, Nancy

43.          James- Clark

44.          Jones, Bunch- West, Lucile

45.          James, Commodore- Ray

46.          Jackson

47.          Jones, Cody M.D. & family

48.          Jones, Charlie- Sims

49.          Jones, Alvis Ed.- Cain

50.          Jones Elmbert Family

51.          Jones, Alvis-Erwin -Caldwell- Clark- Miller Alvis Edwards

52.          James, Robert- Swann Family

53.          Jones, Jasper- Swell, Rebecca

54.          Jones- Roberts

55.          Jones- Rogers

56.          Jones, Thelma- Thomas

57.          Kelso Family

58.          Key Gary- Lamb

59.          Key, John- Armstrong

60.          Key, Lowell Thomas- Bell

61.          Key, Lowell- Humphreys

62.          Key, Wallase- Harris Family

63.          Knight

64.          Lamb Black

65.          Lamb- Rogers

66.          Lassiter, W (Billy)- Dalton Family

67.          Lassiter, Vergil- Camp

68.          Lawrence, John Win- Dick

69.          Lee- Sims

70.          Lockhart, Charlie- Camp

71.          Dr. Conie Crittenden Lowry

72.          McCamish- Wrather

73.          McClain- Rogers- Towensend

74.          McKenzie- Axiotis

75.          McReynolds- Dick

76.          Marine- Bazzell

77.          Marquardt- Armbruster

78.          Mercer- Jones, Flossie

79.          Melvin, John T. - Harned

80.          Melvin- Morris- Swann

81.          Miller, George- Murdock

82.          Miller- Hall

83.          Miller- Richardson

84.          Murdock- Adams

85.          Mrdock, Bryan- Rogers

86.          Morton- Stokes

87.          Myers- Morton

88.          Myers Family

89.          Myers, Robert & Andrew- McCorkle

90.          Myers Robert, Jackson, Andrew "Jack"- McCorkle

Box 4 Military

1.            Elections- Voting

2.            Howards Stone

3.            Lynn Grove History

4.            Mason Memorial Hospital

5.            McClain- Jones Store

6.            Medical History in Calloway County

7.            Murray Hospital

8.            Memories

9.            County Poor Farm

10.          Squire Definition- Chesnut Tree

11.          Recreation Lynn Grove- Harris Grove

12.          John Taylor Melvin Garage

13.          Murray Surgical Hospital

14.          Pickard's Store

15.          Dr. John C. Quertermous

16.          Dr. Kenneth Ross

17.          Scenes in Tri City

18.          Dr. Richard Stout

19.          Stella

20.          Taylor's Store

21.          Tri City Drive-in Theater

22.          Tri City, Graves co., KY

23.          Tri City Tavern

24.          West- Holmes Restaurant

25.          Wiswell Store

26.          National Youth Association

27.          National Youth Association

28.          Community Hospital

29.          Mason Hospital

30.          NYA

31.          ST. Joseph Hospital- Questionnaires

32.          NYA

33.          Military Iraq

34.          1818 History of Western Calloway County

35.          Agriculture in Calloway

36.          Burton Service Station

37.          CCC Camp- Murray

38.          CCC

39.          CCC

40.          Farley, Robert

41.          CCC

42.          CCC

43.          CCC

44.          CCC

45.          Courthouse- Wadesboro

46.          Boydsville, KY

47.          Browns Grove

48.          Butterworth Clinic

49.          Cold Water

50.          Crossland

51.          Keys- Houston Clinic

52.          Deaths & Funerals

Box 5 Military

1.            YNA

2.            Houston- McDevitt- Clinic Hospital

3.            Houston- McDevitt

4.            Forgy- Pearl Harbor

5.            MCCH

6.            Murray Doctors

7.            M.D. Murray Stories

8.            Package From Anna Redden

9.            Nurses- Houston McDevitt Drs- Etc.

10.          Lola James MCCH

11.          Ruth E. Cole US NR Nurse Corps

Box 6 Churches & Schools

1.            Utterback School

2.            Utterback School

3.            Waters School

4.            Young School

5.            Lynn Grove- Harris Grove Book- Genealogy page

6.            Information for family history

7.            Daughters of the confederacy

8.            Lynn Grove Yearbook

9.            Lynn Grove 1947 yearbook

10.          Lynn Grove Schools 1950's

11.          Lynn Grove School 1960's

12.          Motheral School

13.          Outland School

14.          Paschall School

15.          Pleasant Valley

16.          Rosin Ridge

17.          Salem School

18.          Sinking Springs School

19.          South Howard School

20.          Sugar Hill School

21.          Lynn Grove School etc.

22.          Calloway County Church of Christ 1836- 1838

23.          Church Attendance

24.          The Community of Christ Church

25.          Goshen United Methodist Church

26.          Knob Creek Church of Christ

27.          Lynn Grove Methodist Church

28.          Lynnville Church of Christ

29.          Primitive Baptist Church

30.          Salem Baptist Church

31.          Sinking Springs Baptist Church

32.          Story's Chapel Methodist Church

33.          Williams Chapel Church of Christ

34.          Broach School

35.          School History in Calloway County

36.          Coldwater School

37.          Edgehill School

38.          Faxon School

39.          Galloway School

40.          Harris Grove School

41.          The Wildcat 1941-42

42.          Lynn Grove 1940

43.          Ruth Duplicate

44.          Kelly School

45.          Lynn Grove School History

46.          Wildcat

47.          Lynn Grove Class Graduates 1923- 1960

48.          Lynn Grove School 1930 (1)

49.          Class of 1936 (2)

50.          folder 3

51.          Lynn Grove School Reunions

52.          Lynn Grove's School 1910's

53.          Lynn Grove School's 1920's

54.          Lynn Grove 1925

55.          Lynn Grove Yearbook 51-52

56.          Lynn Grove 1930's

57.          Lynn Grove Schools 1940's

 

Box 7 Obituaries

1.            January-05

2.            February-05

3.            March-05

4.            April-05

5.            May-05

6.            June-05

7.            July-05

8.            August-05

9.            September-05

10.          October-05

11.          November-05

12.          December-05

13.          January-04

14.          February-04

15.          March-04

16.          April-04

17.          May-04

18.          June-04

19.          July-04

20.          August-04

21.          September-04

22.          October-04

23.          November-04

24.          December-04

25.          Deaths 2003

26.          Obituaries 2003

27.          Deaths 2006

28.          School Photos (Not MSU)

29.          Lynn Grove Graduates 1923-1960

30.          Burial Records

31.          Boyd Lewis

32.          Burial Records

33.          Obituary MSU Articles Birth news

34.          Genealogical Society

35.          Ford Family

36.          Research

37.          Family- Records

38.          Lynn Grove

39.          Jones, Barkley

40.          Mixed Dates Lynn Grove Family & Friends

41.          The Moorman Family

Box 8 MSU Nursing History

1.            Loose clippings and promotional material for MSU Nursing

2.            1965 clippings

3.            Department of Nursing

4.            Home Coming 1987

5.            MCCH- Building

6.            All filed in Books

7.            History and Development of MSU program

8.            School of Nursing

9.            Mixed material for Reviews

10.          BSN Beginning Pasty Forrest

11.          BSN in Book Duplicates

12.          Nursing 1968

13.          Nursing 1990's

14.          LPN

15.          Nursing

16.          Schedules & Programs MSU

17.          Student Health Services

18.          Murray Home Coming 1988

19.          Home Coming 1988

20.          Home Coming 1986

21.          Home Coming 1987

22.          Training School Murray State University

23.          College History, Death Records, Misc. Newspapers

24.          MSU Nursing Program in Murray Life Summer 2007

Box 9 Boyd

1.            Confido Boyd

2.            Boyd

3.            Boyd-Ireland

4.            Boyd

5.            Boyd

6.            Boyd

7.            Boyd

8.            Boyd

Box 10

1.            Old Calloway Courthouse

2.            MSU Nursing folder 2

3.            MSU Nursing folder 1

4.            Misc.

5.            ODC Hospital Nursing

6.            JSM Hospital Nursing

7.            Murray State college Nursing

8.            Misc. Genealogical

9.            Lynn Grove

10.          Family Journal for John Darius Galloway

11.          Page from Lynn Grove Methodist Directory

12.          Chronological order of Blood River Churches

13.          Family Records of William Berry Winchester

14.          Pogue- Hudsbeth

15.          Smith

16.          Lynn Grove

17.          Adams

18.          Miller

19.          Ford

20.          Obituary

21.          Genealogy

22.          Veterans Newspaper

23.          The Life & Times of Maude Lee Boyd

24.          Brown- Earl Albert

25.          Bible Records Calloway County

26.          Letter To Ruth from Steven, Daiva, and Coral Sparks

27.          Lynn Grove School

28.          Military

29.          Brochure & Picture of Jeffrey

30.          Murray State Newspaper

31.          Misc. Photos

Box 11

1.            Book Sale

2.            Book Sales

3.            Voided Application for Non- Project

4.            Genealogy Family Inquiries

5.            Inquiries Concerning Families

6.            Maps

7.            History- Odd Clipping

8.            Lynnville Hotel Rebekah Lodge

9.            7 to 8 main

10.          Calloway County Genealogy Soc.

11.          News

12.          Immigration To KY

13.          Woman’s Club History

14.          Hospice

15.          Hazel, KY

16.          Genealogy Photos

17.          Asbury Cemetery Directory

18.          2001- 2002 Minutes Meeting

19.          News Letters

20.          Murray History

21.          Jackson Purchase Homecoming 2000

22.          Calloway Co. Public Health

23.          Mason Hospital & MCCH

24.          Early Murray

25.          Genealogy 2002

26.          Genealogy 2003- 2009 News Letters

27.          Genealogy

Box 12

1.            Interments in Calloway County Cemeteries

2.            Calloway County Cemeteries

3.            Genealogy & Obituaries

4.            Index to Story of Calloway Co.

5.            Lynn Grove, Kentucky 1939

6.            Photographic Pot- Pourri of Calloway County

7.            Renaissance of Knowledge Christine Pogue Library Fund Pledge/ Gift Form

8.            Histories & Biographies Western KY 1885

9.            Renas Material

10.          Genealogical Society

11.          Calloway County Genealogical Society

12.          For Info and News Letters Mostly History

13.          Index 1980 Family Records of Calloway County Families- Morgaret- Cloys

14.          Family Records of Calloway County, Kentucky and Adjoining Counties

15.          Calloway County Cemeteries

16.          Marriage Records Calloway County, KY part 1 & 2

17.          Marriage Records Calloway County, KY part 1 & 2

18.          Letter to Ruth

19.          1951

20.          Class of 1952

21.          Class of 1953

22.          Class of 1954

23.          Class of 1955

24.          Class of 1956

25.          Class of 1957

26.          Class of 1958

27.          Class of 1959

28.          Class of 1960

29.          Class of 1961

30.          Class of 1962

31.          Class of 1963

32.          Class of 1964

33.          Class of 1965

34.          Class of 1966

35.          Misc. Gen.

Box 13

1.            Hand written note pads by Ruth

2.            7th Day Adventist Farm

3.            Industrial Academy in Calloway County & Random Photo

4.            Montage "Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition!!" Page 7

5.            New Hope By, Ruth E. Cole

Box 14 Over-sized

1.            Post offices- Calloway County

2.            Telephone Systems

3.            Harris Grove WWII Vets

4.            Church Records Methodist Episcopal Church South

5.            Church Land Section Mayes

6.            !950's A Kentucky Adventure

7.            Boyd

8.            Boyd

9.            Boyd Dead Will

10.          Boyd- Maps

Box 15 Over-sized

1.            Department of Nursing Officers 

Special Collections & University Archives