Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS13-08 Vick Family History: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Vick Family History

Collection Title: Vick Family History
 
Series Number: MS13-08
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: May 17, 2013
 
Date Span: 1788-1939
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 letter size file folder.
 
Type of Material: Memoir.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: John Leonidas Vick was born in Livingston County, Kentucky in 1834. During the 1850s he was farmer and teacher in Livingston County. In 1862, he was elected county surveyor. During the Civil War, Vick was imprisoned as a Southern sympathizer and afterwards drafted into the United States Army but did not serve. Following the war, he was elected County Clerk for Livingston County. He was reelected to the office in 1870, 1874, 1878 and 1882. He ran for County Judge in 1886 and 1894 but was defeated both times. He later served as postmaster for the Vicksburg community of Livingston County. He died on April 6, 1927 at Vicksburg.   
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a transcribed family history written by John L. Vick of Livingston County, Kentucky circa 1920. The history contains recollections told by family members from 1788 to 1939. Included are family reminiscences related to the Nat Turner slave rebellion, the American Civil War in western Kentucky and significant events in Livingston County.   
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Vick, John Leonidas, 1834-1927.
Vick family.
Reese family.
Turner, Nat, 1800?-1831.
Southampton Insurrection, 1831.
Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152