Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS13-07 Joe Pat James Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Joe Pat James Collection

Collection Title: Joe Pat James Collection
 
Series Number: MS13-07
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in May of 2013.
 
Date Listed: May 14, 2013
 
Date Span: ca. 1900
 
Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case.
 
Type of Material: Photographs.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with fading and foxing to photographic prints.
 
Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Joe Pat James was born on May 3, 1927 in Kirksey, Kentucky. He graduated Kirksey High School in 1945. He served in the United States Army Signal Corps during the final year of the Second World War. He remained in the service until 1947. He returned to Kirksey following the war and later attended Murray State College (presently Murray State University). He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture in 1957. He was best remembered for his daily talk radio program he hosted on WNBS of Murray, Kentucky from the late 1970s until his death in 2012. He was worked for Equifax Incorporated from 1954 to 1989 and was very active in the Murray Lions Club. He died on November 4, 2012 at his home in Murray.   
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic prints of Western Kentucky Normal School in the early 1900s and Rainey T. Wells and wife in circa 1945. Included with the collection is biographical information on Joe Pat James of Murray, Kentucky.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
James, Joe Pat, 1927-2012
Wells, Rainey T., 1875-1958.
Western Kentucky Normal School (Kirksey, Ky.)
Calloway County (Ky.) – History.
 
Box List

Box 1 

  1. Biographical Information
  2. Calloway County Normal School Historical Marker
  3. Correspondence
  4. ca. 1945

Oversized Box

  • Photographs

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152