Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS13-06 Alma Gordon Seay Memoirs: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Alma Gordon Seay Memoirs

Collection Title: Alma Gordon Seay Memoirs
 
Series Number: MS13-06
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 9, 2013.
 
Date Listed: May 9, 2013
 
Date Span: ca. 1885-1960
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 letter size file folder.
 
Type of Material: Memoir.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Alma Caroline Gordon Seay was born on December 18, 1880 near Feliciana, Kentucky to E. H. Gordon and Keziah Caroline Cannon Gordon. She resided on the Gordon family farm until her marriage to George Washington Seay on December 26, 1900. She and her husband moved to Memphis soon afterwards. They returned to farm in Feliciana a few years later. Shortly after the First World War the Seay family relocated to Las Animas, Colorado to farm. After four seasons of failed crops they again returned to Kentucky. She and her husband moved back and forth between Colorado and Kentucky until her husband’s death in 1945. In her later years, she lived in a retirement community in Clinton, Kentucky.     
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a forty-nine page typescript memoir of Alma Gordon Seay of Feliciana, Kentucky. The memoir contains a genealogy of the Gordon family and Seay’s recollections of her childhood on the family farm in Feliciana. She later recounts her marriage to George Washington Seay and their relocation to Memphis, Tennessee in the early 1900s and later to Las Animas, Colorado around 1919. She and her husband briefly worked for the JJ Cattle Ranch before returning to Kentucky. The memoir concludes with descriptions of her travels through Colorado, New Mexico and California.     
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Seay, Alma Gordon, 1880-
Seay, George Washington, 1879-
Gordon family.
Graves County (Ky.) – History.
Feliciana (Ky.) – History.
Bent County (Colo.) – History.
Las Animas (Colo.) – History.
JJ Ranch (Colo.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152