Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS13-05 Richard Cruce Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Richard Cruce Collection

Collection Title: Richard Cruce Collection
 
Series Number: MS13-05
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Chet Adams in April of 2013.
 
Date Listed: May 10, 2013
 
Date Span: 1939-1988 (bulk, 1961-1970)
 
Size of Collection: 10.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size container; 2 record center boxes; 12 small ledger boxes and 2 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Magazines, newspapers, ephemera and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by alphabetically by title of publications; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Richard Cruce is an alumnus of Murray State University. He was an avid collector of published materials, ephemera and memorabilia related to President John F. Kennedy and the Kennedy family during the 1960s and 1970s. He also collected presidential campaign materials from 1968 to 1984.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of over 380 journals, magazines, newspapers, ephemera memorabilia related to the presidency and assassination of John F. Kennedy. The collection also contains publications related to other members of the Kennedy family, Eugene McCarthy and presidential campaign materials from 1968 to 1984.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 – Assassination.
McCarthy, Eugene J., 1916-2005.
Kennedy family.
Presidents – United States – Election.
Presidential candidates – United States – History.
Political campaigns – United States – History.
 
Box List:

Box 1

1. Eugene McCarthy 1968 Election Materials 

2. Eugene McCarthy 1968 Election Materials 

3. Eugene McCarthy 1968 Election Materials 

4.Eugene McCarthy 1968 Election Materials 

5. Gerald Ford 1976 Election Materials

6. Jimmy Carter 1976 Election Materials

7.  JFK Election Materials

8. Miscellaneous

9. Presidential Bumper Stickers

10. Richard Nixon 1982 Materials

11. RFK 1968 campaign Materials

12. Ronald Reagan 1984 Election Materials

13. Walter Mondale 1984 Election Materials

Box 2

1. Misc. Magazines; includes Ladies Home Journal, Life, etc…

Box 3

1. Misc. Magazines; includes Look, McCall’s, etc…

Box 4

1. American Heritage, August 1967

2. Book Digest Magazine, October 1975- March 1979

Box 5

1. Commentary, January 1970

2. Crawdaddy, August 1975

3. 1960 International Rice Festival Rice and Creole Souvenir Cookbook

4. January-February 1961 Democratic Digest Special Inaugural Issue

5. Esquire, February 1972- November 21, 1978

Box 6

1. Esquire Golden Anniversary Collector’s Issue, December 1983

2. Evergreen, June 1969

3. Fact, November-December 1966

4. Foreign Affairs: An American Quarterly Review, October 1957

5. Freedom, January 1986, April 1986

6. Gallery, 1975

7. Good Housekeeping, January 1969, October 1976, April 1979

Box 7

1. Harpers Magazine, May 1939- October 1983

2. Life Souvenir Edition (JFK)

3. Ladies Home Journal March 1974- November 1977

Box 8

1. McCall’s, November 1973- June 1980

2. Modern Screen, December 1969

3. Money, March 1976

4. Motion Picture, February 1970- March 1975

5. Movie Life, July 1974

6. Movie TV Confidential, January 1970

7. Movie World, March 1970

Box 9

1. The Nation, June 7, 1975

2. National Geographic, January 1961- November 1966

3. The New Leader, April 15, 1975- May 24, 1976

4. The New Republic, March 30, 1968- December 24 and 31, 1977

Box 10

1. The New Republic, September 23, 1978; November, 21, 1983

2. New Times, April 18, 1975

3. New York, August 8, 1977- February 27, 1978

4. The New Yorker, April 26, 1976

5. Newsweek, December 2, 1963- May 28, 1979

6. Norton: Books That Live, Summer 1975

7. People, June 24, 1974- November 1, 1976

Box 11

1. People, November 8, 1976- November 28, 1988

2. Photographic Report Robert R. Kennedy Victim of Violence

3. Photoplay, December, 1968- Nov. 1977

4. Playboy, July 1976, May 1975

Box 12

1. Playgirl, August 1976

2. Politics Today, May/June 1978

3. Private Practice, May 1976

4. Public Opinion Quarterly, Fall 1962, Summer 1964, Fall 1964, Summer 1967

Box 13

1. Readers Digest, May 1969, November 1977, March 1978, February 1980

2. The Reporter, December 5, 1963

3. Representative American Speeches: 1958- 1959

Box 14

1. Saturday Review, May 1, 1976; February 19, 1977

2. The Sign: National Catholic Magazine, June 1962

3. Silver Screen, January 1970

4. Skeptic

5. Time, November 16, 1960 Election Extra- November 28, 1988.

6. True, October 1967, November 1973, April 1975

7. TV Guide, Nov. 12-18, 1983

Box 15

1. TV Radio Mirror, December 1969

2. TV and Screen World, April 1969

3. TV Week

4. U.S. News and World Report, December 9, 1963- November 21, 1983

5. Us, September 29, 1981; June 18, 1984

6. Vanity Fair, July 1983

7. Wisconsin Magazine of History, Autumn, 1972

8. Woman’s Day, April 1974

9. The World Book Encyclopedia 1961 Annual

Box 16

1. Misc. newspaper print publications, includes Midnight and National Enquirer

Box 17

1. Misc. newspapers, includes Chicago Tribune and Sun-Democrat

Box 18

1. Misc. items: cartoon, cassette tapes, campaign buttons, drink can, drawing on sheet of plastic

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152