Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-25 Enoch C. Sherman Diary: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Enoch C. Sherman Diary

Collection Title: Enoch C. Sherman Diary

 

Series Number: MS12-25

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on December 3, 2012.

 

Date Listed: December 3, 2012

 

Date Span: 1905-1913

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 letter size file folder.

 

Type of Material: Diary.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Enoch Clinton Sherman was born on March 29, 1827 in Tennessee, the son of George Tucker Sherman and Millie Elizabeth Clinton Sherman. He resettled in Harris Grove, Kentucky sometime in the 1840s. He married Sarah Adams on July 1, 1845 and they had six children. He and his family relocated to Arkansas during the Civil War but returned to Kentucky after the conflicted ended. Sherman served as a physician’s apprentice at Birmingham, Kentucky and began to practice medicine in Calloway County, Kentucky during the 1880’s. He was involved in establishing a telephone system at Harris Grove and assisted in the development of a children’s school at Lynn Grove Methodist Church. He died on January 20, 1913 at Harris Grove and is interred at Sinking Spring Cemetery.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a bound copy of a diary created by Enoch Clinton Sherman of Harris Grove, Calloway County, Kentucky from December 5, 1905 to January 8, 1913. The diary contains the daily entries of a country doctor and farmer. Included in the diary are family records of the Adams, Cole, Miller, Rodgers, Enoch, Lockhart, Sherman, Parker and Camp families, death lists of Calloway County citizens from 1867 to 1913 and the obituaries of prominent residents in Western Kentucky.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Sherman, Enoch Clinton, 1827-1913.

Farm life – Kentucky – Calloway County (Ky.)

Physicians – Kentucky – Personal narratives.

Adams family.

Miller family.

Cole family.

Rodgers family.

Enoch family.

Lockhart family.

Sherman family.

Parker family.

Camp family.

Harris Grove (Ky.)

Calloway County (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152