Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-20 Sullivan-Bruch Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Sullivan-Bruch Papers

Collection Title: Sullivan-Bruch Papers

 

Series Number: MS12-20

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Richard B. Davis between August and December of 2012.

 

Date Listed: December 3, 2012

 

Date Span: 1891 - 1965

 

Size of Collection: 3.5 Linear Feet

 

Number of Boxes: 4 letter size document cases, 2 letter half size document cases, 1 legal size document case and 1 record center box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, records, newspaper clippings, photographs, and postcards.

 

Condition of Material: Good, some with minor tears and creases caused by improper storage and aging.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Virginia (Ginny) Irene Sullivan-Bruch was born May 26, 1921 in Hickman, Fulton County, Kentucky. A teacher and published poet, genealogist, and civic leader in Alexandria, she began a career in the Civil Service in 1948, retiring in 1980 from the Pentagon Army Library in Washington, D.C., where she was a section chief. She graduated from Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) in 1943, married Truman E. Bruch in 1944 while he was a flight instructor for Civilian Aviation Corps, and moved to Tennessee, where Truman worked at Oak Ridge. Truman died in 2000 after 56 years of marriage. Her daughter, Susan Irene Bruch, was born in 1945. Truman and Ginny were founders and long-time members of First Christian Church in Alexandria, where Ginny taught Sunday school and expanded the church library. With her sister, Josephine Sullivan, Ginny compiled a database for the Ivy Hill Cemetery in Alexandria, Beneath the Oaks of Ivy Hill. Her comprehensive genealogical work, Proud Wanderer’s, traces the roots of her mother’s family, the Helm’s. A resident of Alexandria, Virginia for 63 years, she was active in Colonial Dames Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution and also served as research curator for the General Robert E. Lee Boyhood Home located in Old Town Alexandria. She died on May 5, 2012, in Manassas, Virginia, at the home of family friends who were caring for her.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of original correspondence between various family members from 1894 through 1976. Correspondence gives clear descriptions of the living conditions in rural Western Kentucky during the early years of the 20th Century, and the Home Front experience during World War I and World War II. Details of various medical treatments for Typhoid and Influenza are also included as well as the college life experience at Murray State Teacher’s College during the 1930’s and 1940’s. Family research in the collection includes genealogical information for the Helm, Sullivan, and Rose Family’s, as well as newspaper clippings, photographs, and postcards.

 

Subject headings / Descriptors:

Sullivan-Bruch, Virginia Irene, 1921 – 2012.

Sullivan family.

Rose family.

Blackmore family.

Helm family.

Murray State Teachers College – History.

Hickman (Ky.) – History.

Fulton County (Ky.) – History.

Alexandria (Va.)

Robert E. Lee Boyhood Home (Alexandria, Va.)

Influenza epidemic, 1918-1919 – Kentucky – Jackson Purchase.

United States – Social conditions – 1933-1945.

World War, 1914-1918 – Social aspects – United States.

Collection Inventory - Sullivan-Bruch Papers

Box 1

1.         Photographs

2.         Biographical Information

3.         “May Child”, 1962

4.         Miscellaneous publications

5.         “A Childhood Remembered”

6.         Selected Poems

7.         “Dandelion Days”, 1984

8.         Computer jump drives

9.         1917 Calender

10.       Medical treatment records (Typhoid) for Josephine Helm, 08 Oct 1922 to 09 Nov 1922

11.       Miscellaneous

12.       Letters, Josephine and Virginia to Daddy, 1918 – 1930

13.       Miscellaneous newspaper clippings

14.       Fragile correspondence

15.       Undated correspondence

Box 2

1.         Blakemore Family I

2.         Blakemore Family II

3.         Blakemore Family III

4.         Blakemore Family IV

5.         Genealogical Information

6.         Genealogical Information

Box 3

1.         William Luther Helm Letters, 1891 – 1915

2.         William Luther Helm Letters, 1916 – 1963

3.         Alma Blanche Helm Letters, 1893 - 1912

Box 4

1.         1894 – 1899

2.         May – Dec 1903

3.         1904

4.         Jan 1907

5.         Feb – Aug 1907

6.         Sep – Nov 1907

7.         1908

8.         1911

9.         1912

10.       1913

11.       1914

12.       1915

13.       1916

14.       1917

Box 5

1.         1918 – 1919

2.         1920 – 1922

3.         1923 – 1933

4.         Mar – Jun 1935

5.         July 1935

6.         Aug – Sep 1935

7.         Oct – Nov 1935

8.         1936

9.         1937

10.       1938

11.       1939

12.       1940

13.       Jan – Feb 1941

14.       Apr – May 1941

Box 6

1.         Jun – Sep 1941

2.         Jan – Apr 1942

3.         May – Jul 1942

4.         Aug – Dec 1942

5.         1954

6.         1955

7.         1956

8.         1957

9.         1958

10.       1959

11.       Postcards, 1900 – 1909

12.       Postcards, 1910 – 1919

13.       Postcards, 1920 – 1929

14.       Postcards, 1930 – 1939

15.       Postcards, 1940 – 1949

16.       Postcards, 1954 – 1958

17.       Postcards, unknown dates

18.       Postcards, Miscellaneous

Box 7

1.         1953

2.         Scrapbook

Box 8 (Photocopies of original letters)

1.         1894 – 1929

2.         1896 – 1907

3.         1903 – 1904

4.         1907 – 1910

5.         1908 – 1913

6.         1913 – 1916

7.         1916 – 1926

8.         1917 – 1929

9.         1940

10.       1941

11.       1942

12.       1943

13.       1945 – 1949

14.       1948 - 1949

15.       1950

16.       1951

17.       1952

18.       1953

19.       1955-56

20.       1957 – 1959

21.       1960 – 1965

22.       1960 – 1964

23.       1965 - 1976

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152