Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-17 Nathan Bedford Forrest Signature: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Nathan Bedford Forrest Signature

 

Collection Title: Nathan Bedford Forrest Signature

 

Series Number: MS12-17

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 21, 2012.

 

Date Listed: August 21, 2012

 

Date Span: 1869

 

Size of Collection: 2 items.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and portrait.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Nathan Bedford Forrest was the president of the Selma, Marion and Memphis Railroad Company from 1868 to 1874.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a railroad bond for the Selma, Marion and Memphis Railroad Company signed by Nathan Bedford Forrest on September 1, 1869. Collection also includes a 5x7 portrait imprint of Forrest in a Confederate uniform. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Forrest, Nathan Bedford, 1821-1877.

Selma, Marion and Memphis Railroad Company.

Railroads – Alabama.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152