Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-09 Carlos E. Williams Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Carlos E. Williams Papers

 

Collection Title: Carlos E. Williams Papers

 

Series Number: MS12-09

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 16, 2012.

 

Date Listed: August 16, 2012

 

Date Span: 1943-1946

 

Size of Collection: 1.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Carlos E. Williams was born on June 1, 1916 at Murray, Kentucky. He was drafted into the United States Army during the Second World War and served with the 479th Quartermaster Battalion Laundry Company from July 14, 1943 to February 13, 1946. He received two bronze stars and a medal for good conduct. After the war, he worked as a sheet metal worker for the Sheet Metal Worker Union and the Tennessee Valley Authority. He retired in Murray and died on September 24, 2007.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence written by Sergeant Carlos E. Williams to his parents and wife during the Second World War from July 19, 1943 to September 9, 1945. The letters were written from Camp Lee, Virginia, Greenville, Pennsylvania and from undisclosed bases in England and Germany. Included in the papers are telegrams, military personnel records, certificates and photographs of Williams in uniform. Also found in the collection is a photograph of the Japanese delegation arriving at Nichols Field in Manila in August of 1945.   

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Williams, Carlos E., 1916-2007

World War, 1939-1945 – Personal narratives, American.

Soldiers – Kentucky – Murray.

United States. Army. Quartermaster Battalion, 479th.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152