Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-05 Murray Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray Scrapbook

 

Collection Title: Murray Scrapbook

 

Series Number: MS12-05

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 25, 2012.

 

Date Listed: June 25, 2012

 

Date Span: 1912-1946

 

Size of Collection: 1.0 linear foot.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized ledger box.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with tears and fading caused by acidic paper, adhesives, improper storage and aging.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Murray Scrapbook was originally donated to the Calloway County Public Library by an unknown donor in the 1980s. The Murray State University Special Collections & Archives received the scrapbook on June 21, 2012 as part of a larger collection. The name of the scrapbook’s creator is not located on any of the pages.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection contains a scrapbook of newspaper clippings from local and regional newspapers in the Jackson Purchase area of southwestern Kentucky and northwestern Tennessee. The bulk of the scrapbook consists of newspaper articles on state and regional events from 1912 to 1946. A few of the topics of interest include Reelfoot Lake, World War I, World War II, significant events and local and state history.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray (Ky.) – History.

Jackson Purchase (Ky.) – History.

Reelfoot Lake (Tenn.) – History.

Kentucky – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152