Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-04 Murray Democrat Photographic Negatives Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray Democrat Photographic Negatives Collection

 

Collection Title: Murray Democrat Photographic Negatives Collection

 

Series Number: MS12-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Jonathon Byrn and Michael Adams from March to August of 2012

 

Date Listed: August 29, 2012.

 

Date Span: ca. 1950s-1960s

 

Size of Collection: 2.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 letter size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Photographic negatives.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with dust and water damage to some and over exposure caused by improper storage and climatic fluctuations.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject or event; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Murray Democrat was published in Murray, Kentucky from 1939 to 1975.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic negatives produced and retained by the publisher of the Murray Democrat newspaper during the 1950s and 1960s. The collection contains images of people, businesses and events in the City of Murray and Calloway County, Kentucky.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray Democrat (Murray, Ky.)

Murray (Ky.) – Newspapers.

Calloway County (Ky.) – Newspapers.

Murray (Ky.) – Pictorial works.

Calloway County – Pictorial works.

 

BOX LIST

Box 1

  1. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection A-1
  2. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection A-2
  3. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection B-
  4. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection C-
  5. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection D-
  6. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection E-
  7. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat (FBLA, FFA, FHA) F-1
  8. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection F-2
  9. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection G-
  10. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection H-
  11. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection J-
  12. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection K-

Box 2

  1. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection L-
  2. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection M-
  3. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection N-
  4. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection O-
  5. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection P-
  6. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection R-
  7. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection S-
  8. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection T-
  9. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection U-
  10. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection W-

Box 3

  1. Murray Democrat Collection A-
  2. Murray Democrat Collection B-
  3. Murray Democrat Collection C-
  4. Murray Democrat Collection D-
  5. Murray Democrat Collection E-
  6. Murray Democrat Collection F-
  7. Murray Democrat Collection G-
  8. Murray Democrat Collection H-
  9. Murray Democrat Collection K-
  10. Murray Democrat Collection L-
  11. Murray Democrat Collection M-
  12. Murray Democrat Collection O-
  13. Murray Democrat Collection P-
  14. Murray Democrat Collection R-
  15. Murray Democrat Collection S-
  16. Murray Democrat Collection T-
  17. Murray Democrat Collection U-
  18. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection W-

Box 4

  1. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Big Name Dance March 10, 1959
  2. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Fashion Shows
  3. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Military Ball Dec. 7
  4. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Misc.
  5. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Mistletoe Dance December 15, 1957
  6. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Mistletoe Ball December 1958
  7. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Spring Military Ball 1957
  8. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection ROTC Military Ball Fall 1958
  9. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Spring Military Ball 1958
  10. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection ROTC Spring 1959
  11. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Sweater Pies March 1959
  12. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Valentines Dance
  13. Murray State University Archives Murray Democrat Collection Winter Wonderland Dance January 1959
  14. Murray Democrat Collection Misc. Damaged 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152