Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-02 Hammack Political Oral History Interview Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Hammack Political Oral History Interview Papers

 

Collection Title: Hammack Political Oral History Interview Papers

 

Series Number: MS12-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Benjamin J. Drake in February and March of 2012.

 

Date Listed: March 1, 2012

 

Date Span: 1974-1976

 

Size of Collection: 1.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size document cases and 1 letter size document case.

 

Type of Material: Interview transcripts, research notes, correspondence, etc.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: James Wallace Hammack Jr. was a professor and chair in the department of history at Murray State University from 1968 to 2001. He was born on April 5, 1938 at Electric Mills, Mississippi. His family relocated to Marion, Arkansas at an early age. He received a bachelor’s degree in 1961 and a master’s degree in 1962 from Memphis State University. He was awarded a Ph.D. in history from the University of Kentucky in 1974. Hammack taught as an instructor at Louisiana Tech University from 1962 to 1963 and as a part time instructor at the University of Kentucky from 1967 to 1968. He accepted a position at Murray State University as assistant professor in 1968. He served as director of the Pogue Oral History Institute from 1973 until his retirement in 2001. He was also the president of the National Oral History Association from 1980 to 1981 and a member of the Kentucky Oral History Commission. He died on July 26, 2001.

                

Scope and Content: Collection consists of interview transcripts and research materials related to the oral history interviews of Earle C. Clements and Louie B. Nunn conducted by James W. Hammack from July 19, 1974 until November 18, 1976.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Clements, Earle C., 1896-1985

Nunn, Louie B., 1924-2004

Hammack, James W., Jr., 1938-2001

Governors – Kentucky.

Kentucky -- Politics and government.

United States – Politics and government.

 

Additional Sources: See Oral History OH160 and OH168 for audio recordings of the Earle C. Clement and Louie B. Nunn interviews.

Inventory of MS12-02

 

Box 1:

1.      Interview Transcript: Tapes 1 and 2 of 2; July 29, 1974; Draft #1; Copy 1 of 1

2.      Interview Transcript: Tape 1 of 2; July 29, 1974; Draft #2

3.      Interview Transcript: Tapes 1 and 2 of 2; July 29, 1974; Draft #2; Copy 1 of 2

4.      Interview Transcript: Tapes 1 and 2 of 2; July 29, 1974; Draft #2; Copy 2 of 2

5.      Interview Transcript: Tapes 1 and 2 of 2; July 29, 1974; Draft #3; Copy 1 of 2

6.      Interview Transcript; October 31, 1974; Transcription #1

7.      Interview Transcript; October 31, 1974; Transcription #1 Corrected

8.      Interview Transcript; October 31, 1974; Draft #1

9.      Interview Transcript; October 31, 1974; Draft #2

10.  Interview Transcript: Tape 1; January 24, 1975; Draft

11.  Interview Transcript: Tape 4; January 25, 1975; Draft #1

12.  Interview Transcript; November 14, 1975; Draft #1

13.  Interview Transcript; November 14, 1975; Draft #2

14.  Interview Transcript; November 14, 1975; Draft #3

15.  Interview Transcript; November 17, 1976; Draft #1

16.  Interview Transcript; November 17, 1976; Draft #2

17.  Interview Transcript; November 18, 1976; Draft #1

18.  Interview Transcript; November 18, 1976; Draft #2

Box 2:

1.      Biographical Information; Earle C. Clements

2.      Clements Career Chronology; 1917 – 1944

3.      Correspondence

4.      Application for Research Grant; James W. Hammock, Jr.; February 14, 1980

5.      Manuscripts – Clements; James W. Hammock, Jr.

6.      Clements Essay 1/2; by James W. Hammock, Jr.

7.      Clements Essay 2/2; by James W. Hammock, Jr.

8.      Research Notes; 1942 – 1944

9.      Research Notes; 1947

10.  Research Notes; 1948

11.  Research Notes; Bibliography

12.  Research Notes and Quotes from Interviews with/about Earle C. Clements

13.  Research Notes; Outline

14.  Research Notes; Courier Journal; February 17, 1945 – March 12, 1964

15.  Newspaper Clippings; 1948

16.  MSU – UK – Clements Agreement

17.  Interview Data Forms

18.  Earle C. Clements Day; Ephemera

Box 3:

1.      Correspondence; Hammock – Nunn

2.      Formatting Instructions for Typed Transcripts

3.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 1 of 5; 1st Draft; Copy 1 of 1

4.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 1 of 5; 2nd Draft

5.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 1 of 5; 3rd Draft

6.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 1 of 5; Final Draft

7.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 2 of 5; 1st Draft; Copy 1 of 1

8.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 2 of 5; 2nd Draft

9.      Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 3 of 5; 1st Draft; Copy 1 of 1

10.  Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 3 of 5; 1st Draft Word Processor; edited by George Caldwell

11.  Nunn Transcript; Session I, Tape 4 of 5; 1st Draft Word Processor; edited by George Caldwell

12.  Nunn Transcript; Session I; Tape 5 of 5; 1st Draft

13.  Nunn Transcript; Session II; Tape 1 of 4; 1st Draft

14.  Nunn Transcript; Session II; Tape 2 of 4

15.  Nunn Transcript; Session II; Tape 3 of 4

16.  Nunn Transcript; Session II; Tape 4 of 4

17.  Nunn Transcript; Session III; Tape 1 of 1

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152