Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS12-01 City of Murray and Calloway Count Photograph Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

City of Murray Photograph Collection

Collection Title: City of Murray and Calloway County Photograph Collection
 
Series Number: MS12-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Krista Mack and M. Colleen Krahulec from March to July of 2012.
 
Date Listed: July 12, 2012
 
Date Span: 1860s-1980
 
Size of Collection: 10.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 9 letter size document cases; 2 letter half size document cases; 3 record center boxes and 2 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Photographs and records.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by alphabetically by subject title of image; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The City of Murray, Kentucky photograph collection was donated by the Calloway County Public Library to the Murray State University Special Collections & Archives on February 6, 2012 and June 21, 2012. The collection is believed to have been acquired by the public library following the publication of two county histories during the 1980s and 1990s.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of original photographs and copies of photographs of the City of Murray and Calloway County, Kentucky from the 1880s 1980s. The collection contains images of one room county schoolhouses, prominent families, significant events and historic buildings. Included with the collection are negatives and handwritten notes from researchers and publishers.  
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray (Ky.) – Pictorial works.
Calloway County – Pictorial works.
 
Additional Sources: See Jackson Purchase Digital Archives website for selected online images. Click here to see images.

Inventory to the City of Murray Photograph Collection

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152