Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS11-11 Alice Henderson Phipps Memoirs: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Alice Henderson Phipps Memoirs

Collection Title: Alice Henderson Phipps Memoirs

 

Series Number: MS11-11

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 28, 2011.

 

Date Listed: June 28, 2011

 

Date Span: 1931

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Alice Henderson Phipps was born at Moscow, Kentucky on August 8, 1843. Her family soon after her birth moved to a two thousand acre plantation on the Mississippi River between Hickman and Columbus, Kentucky. She attended the Masonic Seminary at Columbus just prior to the war. Following the Battle of Belmont, Missouri she and her mother relocated to Trenton, Tennessee. Her family spent three years at Trenton before returning to Columbus where they found family home occupied by Union officers and their valuables removed. After the war, she married Nicholas B. Phipps, a former Confederate officer in the engineering corps.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied memoir of Alice Henderson Phipps who resided at Columbus, Kentucky before and during the Civil War. The memoir describes the Battle of Belmont, Missouri, the occupation of Trenton, Tennessee and recollections of family members that served in the Civil War. Collection includes transcripts of excerpts from the memoirs. Copyright restrictions may apply.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Phipps, Alice Henderson, 1843-

Henderson family.

Columbus (Ky.) – History.

Trenton (Tenn.)

Belmont, Battle of. Belmont, Mo., 1861.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152