Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS11-08 John Kelly Ross Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John Kelly Ross Papers

Collection Title: John Kelly Ross Papers

 

Series Number: MS11-08

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 1, 2010 and reprocessed on June 20, 2011.

 

Date Listed: July 1, 2010 and later modified on June 20, 2011

 

Date Span: 1991-2010

 

Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 5 legal size document cases and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Research files, photocopies of primary and secondary resource materials, newspaper clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of subject heading; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: John Kelly Ross, Jr. is a regional historian, lecturer and newspaper columnist from Clinton, Kentucky. He was born in Clinton in 1948. He attended local public schools and graduated from the University of Kentucky with a degree in history. From the 1994 to 2009 he served as the curator of the Hickman County Museum at Clinton. On April 21, 2011, he was named “Historian of Hickman County, Kentucky”.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of the research files kept by Hickman County, Kentucky historian and columnist John Kelly Ross, Jr. The files contain information on significant historical events that occurred in Hickman County from the early 19th century to the early 20th century. The bulk of Ross’ research focused on the City of Columbus, Kentucky, the Battle of Belmont, Missouri and the establishment of Columbus-Belmont State Park. The collection includes manuscript drafts, photocopies of primary and secondary source materials and newspaper articles written by Ross for the Hickman County Gazette and Hickman County Times from 1991 to 2010. The vast majority of the articles are from a series titled “Columbus Scrapbook” which focused on historical events that occurred at Columbus, Kentucky during the 19th Century, particularly during the American Civil War.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Ross, John Kelly, Jr.

Columbus (Ky.) – History.

Clinton (Ky.) – History.

Hickman County (Ky.) – History.

Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

Belmont, Battle of. Belmont, Mo., 1861.

 

BOX LIST

Box 1

  1. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers The 83rd Illinoisan (Clarksville, TN) 1865
  2. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Act establishing the town of Columbus 1820
  3. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers African-Americans-  Columbus, Ky.
  4. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers African-Americans-  excerpts from local newspapers, records, etc. 1861-1872
  5. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers American Revolution
  6. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Anderson Rifle Cannon- Ammo
  7. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Anderson Rifle Cannon- Photograph
  8. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Articles written by John Kelly Ross 1991-1997
  9. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Articles written by John Kelly Ross 1998-2002
  10. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Articles by John Kelly Ross
  11. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Articles- Miscellaneous
  12. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Artillery
  13. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Banishment of Columbus Citizens 1864
  14. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Alben W. Barkley 1926
  15. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Battle of Belmont Poem
  16. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Battle of Columbus-Belmont – First Hand Accounts
  17. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Battle of Columbus-Belmont – History
  18. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Belmont, Mo.- History
  19. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Biographical Sketches- Columbus, Ky. 1963
  20. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Spencer Kellogg Brown
  21. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Cairo, Illinois

 

 

 

Box 2

  1. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Carbutt Stereographs
  2. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers CDs
  3. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Civil War Letters- Published
  4. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Civil War Letters- Unpublished 1861-1864
  5. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Civil War- Miscellaneous
  6. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Civil War- Miscellaneous
  7. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clarksburg High School Memories 1942
  8. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clarksville Chronicle- Articles on Columbus, Kentucky 1861-1862
  9. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clinton Baptist Church- Directory 1923
  10. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clinton College 1910-1913
  11. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clinton High School 1914-1916
  12. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Clinton, Ky.- History
  13. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus-Belmont Stat Park- Ephemera
  14. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus-Belmont State Park- General Information and notes
  15. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus College 1878-1879
  16. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus Directory 1854-1860
  17. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus Dispatch- Articles of Hickman County History 1867-1875
  18. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus Dispatch- Excerpts 1867-1875
  19. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus- History
  20. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus- Miscellaneous Newspapers 1861-1865
  21. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus- Reconstruction 1871-1872
  22. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers “Columbus Scrapbook” Articles 2003-2010

Box 3

  1. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Columbus-Belmont State Park- General Information and Notes
  2. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Confederate Daily News- Excerpts 1861-1862
  3. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Confederate Units at Columbus- Various States
  4. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Confederate Columbus: The Story of the Lady Polk 1990
  5. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Confederate Units at Columbus- Kentucky
  6. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Confederate States Almanac 1862
  7. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Defenses of Columbus- Excerpts from Reports and Eyewitnesses
  8. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Directory- Clinton, KY 1938
  9. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Drawings and Maps of Columbus 1925
  10. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Essays by John Kelly Ross
  11. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Father White Memoirs 1939
  12. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Federal Union (Paducah) 1865
  13. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers “Federal Scout”- Vol. 1 No. 1 1862
  14. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Field Artillery and Projectiles
  15. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Flood of 1927
  16. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Grant Proposal- Exhibit at Hickman County Museum 1997
  17. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Hickman County Court House Documents
  18. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Hickman County Public Schools, 1915-1959
  19. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Hickman County Sesquicentennial- Ephemera 1971
  20. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Hickman, Ky. – History
  21. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Ironclads
  22. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Island No. 10

Box 4

  1. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Jackson Purchase during the Civil War
  2. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Large Cannon at Columbus
  3. Murray State University John Kelly Ross Papers Louisville Daily Courier- Articles on Columbus, Kentucky 1861-1862
  4. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Map- Columbus, KY 1865
  5. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Marvin College 1895- 1917
  6. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Memphis Daily Appeal- Articles on Columbus 1861-1862
  7. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Memphis Avalanche- Articles on Columbus 1861-1862
  8. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Mines and Torpedoes at Columbus
  9. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Money of Columbus during the 1860s
  10. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Nashville Union and American 1861
  11. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers New Orleans Daily Picayune- Articles on Columbus, Kentucky 1861-1962
  12. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers New York Newspapers- Articles on Columbus 1861-1862
  13. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- William L. Black
  14. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Newton C. and N.R. Blanton
  15. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Thomas Blanton Revolutionary War
  16. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- A.W. Caldwell
  17. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- James E. Caldwell
  18. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Joseph E. Caldwell
  19. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- William and Willis Caldwell War of 1812
  20. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- John Cavanaugh
  21. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- James M. Cole
  22. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Benjamin Copeland Revolutionary War
  23. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- John Cox Revolutionary War
  24. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- John R. Dance
  25. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- W.J. and Gray H. Edwards
  26. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Harvey Leland Goodall

Box 5

  1. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Henry W. Hickman
  2. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Allen Howard War of 1812
  3. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- W.A. Howard
  4. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Joseph A. James
  5. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- William Kelley Pensions- William Kelly Revolutionary War
  6. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- James Kewin
  7. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- William Martin Revolutionary War
  8. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- W.J. Mathis
  9. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- J.F. and William T. Matthews
  10. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- D.W. Owen
  11. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- T.H. and James M. Park
  12. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Walter C. and John Pugh
  13. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- W.H. Roach
  14. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Henry C. Watson
  15. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Pensions- Miscellaneous
  16. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Photographs- Columbus 1864
  17. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Proposed State Parks- Columbus-Belmont 1930
  18. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Railroads
  19. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Hardie Norville Revelle Letters 1864-1865
  20. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Rifled Columbiads
  21. Murray State University Archives Adolph Schwartz Report 1861
  22. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Soldiers’ Home- Columbus
  23. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Song of Hickman, Kentucky 1911
  24. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Tennessee Unionists serving in the Federal Army
  25. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Henry Walke- Columbus-Belmont
  26. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers Watson’s Louisiana Battery
  27. Murray State University Archives John Kelly Ross Papers “A Woman’s Life- Work”- Excerpts

Box 6

  1. Photo of Gas Station on 4th Maple
  2. Harper’s Weekly, August 2, 1862
  3. Frank Leslie’s, November 15, 1862- A German language newspaper from the American Civil War, 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152