Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS11-05 Ryan & Company General Dry Goods Store Receipt Ledgers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Ryan & Co. Dry Goods Store Ledgers

Collection Title: Ryan & Company General Dry Goods Store Receipt Ledgers

 

Series Number: MS11-05

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in February of 2010.

 

Date Listed: March 2, 2011

 

Date Span: 1880-1906

 

Size of Collection: 9.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Receipts and invoices.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with darkened smoke and water stains. Ledger bindings are cracked and canvas covers torn and ripped.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Ryan & Company was established by Felix B. Allen and Nathaniel Ryan on the courthouse square at Murray, Kentucky in 1880. The company began selling clothing and furnishing goods but by the turn of the 20th century it evolved into a general dry goods store. The store remained in operation until the death of Nathaniel Ryan in 1934.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of six large volumes of attached purchase orders, receipts and invoices kept by Nathaniel Ryan of the Ryan & Company Dry Goods Store of Murray, Kentucky from 1880 to 1906.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Ryan & Company General Dry Goods Store (Murray, Ky.)

Allen & Ryan Company (Murray, Ky.)

Ryan, Nathaniel (1851-1934)

Dry-goods – Kentucky – Murray.

Murray (Ky.) – Business, industries and trades – Dry-goods.

 

Additional Sources: See Histories and Biographies of Ballard, Calloway, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, McCracken and Marshall Counties, Kentucky by J. H. Battle, W. H. Perrin and G. C. Kniffin.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152