Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS11-04 Paducah Airport Corporation Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Paducah Airport Corporation Records

Collection Title: Paducah Airport Corporation Records

 

Series Number: MS11-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim in 1986, no exact dated recorded. Added to by Ernie Bailey in 1997, no act date recorded. Reprocessed and inventoried in January of 2011 by Dieter C. Ullrich.

 

Date Listed: April 26, 2010. Relisted on January 18, 2011.

 

Date Span: 1934-1966 (bulk, 1941-1965)

 

Size of Collection: 8.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 14 legal size document cases and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, minutes, photographs and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Paducah Airport Corporation was established and incorporated in September of 1941 to construct, maintain and operate an airport in McCracken County and the City of Paducah, Kentucky. The first meeting of the corporation was held on October 9, 1941. Two days later the corporation leased fifty acres of land from the City of Paducah for the new airport. The Second World War slowed progress on construction and it was not until a year after the war’s conclusion that the airport became fully operational. The Paducah Airport Corporation was renamed and re-incorporated as the Barkley Regional Airport Authority in January of 2005.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence (1941-1966), Board of Directors meeting minutes (1941-1954) and financial records (1941-1965) of the Paducah Airport Corporation of Paducah, Kentucky from 1941 to 1966. Included in the records are property titles, land deeds, audit reports, invoices, receipts, payrolls, and contracts and agreements with construction contractors, airline corporations, city and county governments, private land owners and various other businesses and individuals associated the construction and maintenance of Barkley Regional Airport of Paducah, Kentucky from the 1940s to the 1960s.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Paducah Airport Authority (Paducah, Ky.)

Paducah Airport Corporation (Paducah, Ky.)

Barkley Regional Airport Authority (Paducah, Ky.)

Airports – Kentucky – Paducah – History.

Airports – Kentucky - McCracken County – History.

Paducah (Ky.) – Airports.

Airports – Kentucky – Planning.

Ozark Airlines

Eastern Airlines

Chicago & Southern Airlines

Finding aid - Collection Inventory

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152