Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-99 Kate Walker Beall Memoir: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Kate Walker Beall Memoir

Collection Title: Kate Walker Beall Memoir

 

Series Number: MS10-99

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on March 21, 2011.

 

Date Listed: March 21, 2011

 

Date Span: 1861

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder.

 

Type of Material: Memoir.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Kate Walker Beall was a ten year old resident of Columbus, Kentucky when the Battle of Belmont was fought on November 7, 1861. Her widowed mother managed the town’s hotel. After the conclusion of the war, Beall attended Andrew College in Tennessee. In 1899, she graduated from the Homeopathic Medical College of Missouri with a degree in medicine. Following her husband’s death in 1913, she relocated to Denver, Colorado where she maintained a private medical practice until her death in 1929.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a transcribed memoir written by Kate Walker Beall in 1907 of the Battle of Belmont, Missouri on November 7, 1861. Her recollections describe a grand ball that occurred the day prior to the battle, the activities of Confederate troops on the Kentucky side of the Mississippi River during the battle and the return of wounded soldiers following the battle. Beall also mentions the explosion of the 10-inch Dahlgren gun the “Lady Polk”.      

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Beall, Kate Walker (1851-1929)

Columbus (Ky.) – History.

Belmont, Battle of. Belmont, Mo., 1861

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152