Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-97 Murray Civic Music Association Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray Civic Music Association

Collection Title: Murray Civic Music Association Records

 

Series Number: MS10-97

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith in December of 2010.

 

Date Listed: January 18, 2011

 

Date Span: 1975-2009 (bulk, 1989-2008)

 

Size of Collection: 2.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 letter size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, meeting minutes, membership lists, financial records and publicity ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject heading; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Murray Civic Music Association was organized as a cooperative in 1959 and incorporated by the Commonwealth of Kentucky on October 28, 1976. The Association was established to present an annual series of music and dance attractions for the enjoyment of the citizens of Murray and surrounding communities. After several years of declining membership and diminishing donations the association legally dissolved on December 29, 2008.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of organizational and financial records pertaining to the Murray Civic Music Association of Murray, Kentucky from 1975 to 2009. The records contain correspondence, board of directors meeting minutes (1990-2008) and publicity material for events sponsored by the Association during the last two decades of its existence. Included in the records are: the Association’s constitution, articles of incorporation, membership lists, grants, contracts with performers, and miscellaneous ephemera produced by the organization. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray Civic Music Association (Murray, Ky.)

Music – Kentucky – Murray – Societies, etc.

Murray (Ky.) – Social life and customs.

Box List

Box 1

  1. Articles of Incorporation 1976-2002
  2. Ballet Gran Folklorico De Mexico Press Kit 1993-1997
  3. Brown, Alison 2000-2005
  4. Chanticlear 1993-1997
  5. Concert Programs 1995-2006
  6. Concert Seasons 1989-2005
  7. Constitution 1975-1991
  8. Contracts (Old) 2001-2006
  9. Corporate Drive 2005-2007
  10. David Johnson Chorus 2007
  11. Dissolution 2008-2009
  12. Murray State University Archives Murray Civic Music Associations Records Finances (Financial and Transaction Reports) 2001-2005
  13. Glenn Miller Orchestra 1999-2000
  14. Grants 1997-2005
  15. Katahn, Enid 1996-1998
  16. Kruger Brothers 2008
  17. Letterman 2007-2008
  18. Magness, Janiva 2007-2008

Box 2

  1. Me and My Girl 1997
  2. Media Guidelines 1992
  3. Membership 1992-2008
  4. Memory of Jan Wilson 2006-2007
  5. Messiah 1999
  6. The Monkey King 1995
  7. Night and Day 2006
  8. O’Connor, Mark 2005
  9. Paducah Symphony Orchestra 2006
  10. Patriotic Concert 2006
  11. Publicity 1989- 1992
  12. Publicity 1993-1994
  13. Publicity 1995-1998
  14. Publicity 1999- 2003

Box 3

  1. Publicity 2004-2006
  2. Publicity 2007-2009
  3. The Rickards Linell Duo 1992
  4. Rhythm and Brass 1997- 1998
  5. Samite 2006
  6. Secretary Records 1990
  7. Secretary Records 1991
  8. Secretary Records 1992
  9. Secretary Records 1993
  10. Secretary Records 1994
  11. Secretary Records 1995
  12. Secretary Records 1996
  13. Secretary Records 1997
  14. Secretary Records 1998
  15. Secretary Records 1999
  16. Secretary Records 2000
  17. Secretary Records 2001

Box 4

  1. Secretary Records 2002
  2. Secretary Records 2003
  3. Secretary Records 2004
  4. Secretary Records 2004
  5. Secretary Records 2005
  6. Secretary Records 2006
  7. Secretary Records 2007
  8. Secretary Records 2008
  9. Shangri-La Chinese Acrobats 2000
  10. The Tannahin Weavers 1999
  11. Weiss Orion 2006-2008
  12. Wycliffe Gordon 2008

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152