Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-96 West Kentucky Baptist Monthly Journal: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

West Kentucky Baptist Monthly Journal

Collection Title: West Kentucky Baptist Monthly Journal
 
Series Number: MS10-96
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on November 10, 2010
 
Date Listed: November 10, 2010
 
Date Span: 1939-1941
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 17 items.
 
Type of Material: Published newsletter.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading due to improper storage and aging.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The West Kentucky Baptist Monthly Journal was first published in October of 1932 by the West Kentucky Baptist Publishing Company of Benton, Kentucky. The editors of the journal were L. R. Riley, Sam P. Martin, B. R. Winchester and Joe T. Odle. The journal was associated with the First Missionary Baptist Church of Benton, a fairly conservative branch of the Baptist religion that favored the temperance movement and was against any type of dancing. The publication was later published in Clinton, Kentucky from 1949 to 1957
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of seventeen issues of the West Kentucky Baptist journal published between 1939 and 1941. The journal contains information on local and regional activities of the Baptist Church in western Kentucky and Tennessee. Included in the journal are editorials by Baptist ministers on religious issues of the day.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Baptists – Kentucky – Periodicals.
Baptists – Kentucky – Benton.
Baptists – Kentucky – Marshall County.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152