Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-91 C. O. Saxon & Son General Store Ledger: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

C. O. Saxon & Son General Store Ledger

Collection Title: C. O. Saxon & Son General Store Ledger
 
Series Number: MS10-91
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on September 1, 2010.
 
Date Listed: September 1, 2010
 
Date Span: 1895-1920 (bulk, 1895-1899)
 
Size of Collection: 2.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 oversized ledger box.
 
Type of Material: Financial records.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with broken binding, foxing and fading due to improper storage and handling.
 
Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: C. O. Saxon & Sons General Store was established at Pryorsburg, Kentucky in the late 1880’s by Charles O. Saxon. The store was in operation until the early 20th Century. Saxon was born on September 12, 1849 in Kentucky and died on October 12, 1940.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a ledger produced by C. O. Saxon & Son General Store of Pryorsburg, Kentucky from 1895 to 1899. The ledger contains names of customers who purchased items on credit and the amount of money owed and received by the proprietor of the store. Included in the pages of the ledger are day sales records from 1919 to 1920.    
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Saxon, Charles O., 1849-1940
C. O. Saxon & Son General Store (Pryorsburg, Ky.)
Pryorsburg (Ky.) – History.
General stores – Kentucky – Pryorsburg.
Merchants – Kentucky – Pryorsburg.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152