Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-90 Joe Fulks Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Joe Fulks Collection

Collection Title: Joe Fulks Collection

 

Series Number: MS10-90

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 31, 2010

 

Date Listed: August 31, 2010

 

Date Span: 1942-1972

 

Size of Collection: 4.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document cases, 1 legal half sized document case and 2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Newspaper clippings, correspondence, scrapbook, photographs, memorabilia, and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with tears, folds and acidification damage to newspaper clippings.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Joseph Franklin Fulks was a professional basketball player from 1946 to 1954. He was born in Birmingham, Kentucky on October 26, 1921. His family was relocated to Kuttawa when the Tennessee River was dammed in 1932. He attended local public schools and graduated from Kuttawa High School. During his senior year in high school he broke every state scoring record and led the school’s basketball team to the state championship. Fulks briefly enrolled at Millsaps College but transferred to Murray State Teachers College in 1941. He played at Murray State for two seasons starting 47 games and scoring 621 points. In 1943 he was selected as a Kentucky Inter-Collegiate Athletic All-Star and named to the National Association of Inter-Collegiate Athletes All-American team. During the Second World War, he served in the United States Marine Corps and saw action in Iwo Jima and Guam. Following the war, Fulks joined the Philadelphia Warriors of the newly formed Basketball Association of America. In his first year as a professional basketball player, he led the league in scoring and set records for average points-per-game, field goals, foul goals and total points in a single game. His most impressive performance was on February 10, 1949 when he scored 63 points, a record that was not surpassed for over a decade. He retired in 1954 at age 32 amassing 8,003 points in 499 regular season games. In 1970 he was named to the National Basketball Association’s Silver Anniversary Team and in 1978 was named to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. After retirement, Fulks worked as a production foreman for GAF Corporation in Calvert City and later as a recreation officer for the Kentucky State Penitentiary in Eddyville, Kentucky. He died on March 21, 1976 after receiving a mortal gunshot wound following an altercation over a handgun.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings, magazines and sporting event programs related to the professional basketball career of Joe Folks from 1946 to 1954. Along with published information on his professional career, there are photographs, certificates, awards, plaques and other memorabilia focusing on his accomplishments on the hardwood courts. Included in the collection is a scrapbook of the Kuttawa Lyons basketball team of 1939-1940, a basketball uniform he wore during the Kentucky Inter-Collegiate Athletic All-Star game, college notebooks and a VHS video tape on the life of Joe Folks by Philadelphia sportscaster Jim Barniak in 1991.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Fulks, Joseph Franklin (1921-1976)

Philadelphia Warriors (Basketball team)

Basketball – Pennsylvania – Philadelphia – History.

Basketball – Kentucky – Kuttawa – History.

Murray State University – Basketball – History.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Collection Arena- Game Programs 1946-1947
  2. Collection Arena News- Game Programs 1948
  3. Collection Arena News- Game Program 1950-1951
  4. Collection Biographical Information
  5. Collection Certificates and Awards
  6. Collection College Notebooks
  7. Collection Correspondence 1942-1972
  8. Collection Ephemera
  9. Collection Game Programs January-February, 1947
  10. Collection Game Programs March 1947
  11. Collection Game Programs April 1947
  12. Collection Game Programs 1950-1957
  13. Collection Musical Score- “Jumpin’ Joe” 1949
  14. Collection NBA All Star Game Program January 12, 1971
  15. Collection Newspaper Clippings 1947-1971
  16. Collection Newspaper Clippings No Dates
  17. Collection Pathfinder Magazine February 1947
  18. Collection Philadelphia Showtime Program

Box 2

  1. Collection Pro Sports Magazine March 1971
  2. Collection Professional Contracts 1946-1948
  3. Collection Sport Magazine April 1947
  4. Collection Photographs
  5. Collection Sport Magazine January 1948
  6. Collection Sportfolio Magazine February 1948
  7. Collection Sports News- Game Program December 14, 1946
  8. Collection Miscellaneous

Box 3

  1. Plaques
  2. Citation
  3. Scrapbook with newspaper clippings

Box 4

  1. Uniform
  2. Plaque
  3. Newspaper clippings

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152