Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-88 Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records

Collection Title: Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records

 

Series Number: MS10-88

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 23, 2010.

 

Date Listed: August 23, 2010

 

Date Span: 1860-1956

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Meeting minutes and church records.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with minor tears, foxing and fading to older materials due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of church group; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church was organized in 1833 under the care of the Obion Presbytery of Mayfield, Kentucky. The church was located in the southeast corner of Graves County between Tri-City and Bell City. The church saw a decline in membership during the early half of the 20th Century and by the 1960s had disbanded.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of session meeting minutes of the Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Graves County, Kentucky from 1860 to 1911. The records contain registers of elders, deacons, communicants, baptisms, marriages, births, deaths and financial records. Included with the collection are meeting minutes of the church’s missionary society (1952-1956), missionary auxiliary record books (1951-1956), meeting minutes of the Christian Endeavor group (1933-1934) and a Sunday school record book (1911-1914). 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Beech Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church (Beech Grove, Ky.)

Graves County (Ky.) – Church history.

Presbyterians – Kentucky – Graves County.

Church records and registers – Kentucky – Graves County.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152