Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-86 Calloway County Deed Abstracts: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Calloway County Abstracts to Deed Books

Collection Title: Calloway County Deed Abstracts
 
Series Number: MS10-86
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 11, 2010.
 
Date Listed: August 12, 2010
 
Date Span: 1825-1917
 
Size of Collection: 5.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case and 4 oversize boxes.
 
Type of Material: Ledgers.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with broken spines and some torn pages.
 
Arrangement: Organized into series: I. Abstract Book of Wills, 1837-1911. II. Index to Deed Books. III. Abstract Book of Mortgages, 1829-1915. IV. Abstract Book of Towns, 1825-1917. V. Abstract Books to Township Deeds, 1825-1916; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Calloway County, Kentucky was formed on November 3, 1822. The county courthouse burned in 1906 and some of the county court records lost. The surviving deed records were copied into newer ledgers.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of six ledgers of mortgage, deed and will abstracts for Calloway County, Kentucky from 1825 to 1917. The abstracts contain surnames of early pioneers and settlers to the Jackson Purchase region of Kentucky. The collection includes: an abstract book of wills covering the time period from 1837 to 1911; an index to deed books; an abstract book of mortgages from 1829 to 1915; an abstract book of towns, 1825-1917; and a two volume abstract to township deeds from 1825 to 1916.  
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Deeds – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Wills – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Abstracts of title – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Calloway County (Ky.) – Genealogy.
 
Box List

Box 1

  1. Books Abstracts of Wills 1837-1911
  2. Books Index to Deed Books No Dates

Box 2

  1. Books Abstracts of Mortgage Books- Loose Papers 1825-1915
  2. Calloway County Mortgages Book

Box 3

  1. Calloway County Abstract Book of Towns 1825-1917

Box 4

  1. Abstract Book of Township Deeds 1825-1916 Volume 1

Box 5

  1. Abstract Book of Township Deeds 1825-1916 Volume 2

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152