Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-82 Trigg County Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Trigg County Scrapbook

Collection Title: Trigg County Scrapbook

 

Series Number: MS10-82

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 30, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 30, 2010

 

Date Span: 1852-1928 (bulk, 1883-1928)

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook and newspaper clippings.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by creator.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: N/A

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied scrapbook of newspaper clippings of prominent citizens and significant historic events related to Trigg County, Kentucky from 1883 to 1928. The scrapbook was constructed from an old general store ledger dating from 1852 to 1854. Some of the original pages of the ledger had been left intact. The scrapbook contains numerous obituaries and wedding announcements of Trigg County residents from the late 1880s to the early 1920s. Included with the newspaper clippings are articles on shootings, murders, suicides, trials, political campaigns, fires, floods and recollections from early pioneers and Civil War veterans. The scrapbook is not indexed.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Trigg County (Ky.) – History.

Obituaries – Kentucky – Trigg County.

Marriage announcements – Kentucky – Trigg County.

Cadiz (Ky.) – History.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Trigg County Scrapbook Part 1
  2. Trigg County Scrapbook Part 2
  3. Trigg County Scrapbook Part 3
  4.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 4
  5.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 5
  6.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 6
  7.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 7
  8.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 8
  9.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 9
  10.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 10
  11.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 11
  12.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 12
  13.  Trigg County Scrapbook Part 13

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152