Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-81 Montgomery D. Davie Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Montgomery D. Davie Papers

Collection Title: Montgomery D. Davie Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-81

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 29, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 30, 2010

 

Date Span: 1797-1890 (bulk, 1846-1890)

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 10 legal size file folders.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, legal documents, newspaper clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some photocopies difficult to decipher due to improper copying.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Montgomery Decatur Davie was a tobacco farmer, businessman and banker from Clarksville, Tennessee during the latter half of the 19th Century. He was born in Christian County, Kentucky on August 16, 1827. He attended Yale University but later transferred and graduated from Princeton University in 1848. He owned and operated a mill in Montgomery County, Tennessee during the 1850s. He served in the Tennessee legislature from 1855 to 1859. Following the Civil War, he return to Christian County to farm tobacco and was elected as the first Master of the State Grange of Kentucky in 1873. He and his brother Winston Davie founded the Bank of America in Clarksville, Tennessee. He died on August 8, 1898.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of personal and business correspondence received by Montgomery D. Davie of the Beverly community of Christian County, Kentucky from 1854 to 1890. The collection also contains letters related to the State Grange of Kentucky, legal documents, biographical information and family history and papers associated with John Epperson of Richmond, Virginia from 1797 to 1801. Included with the papers is a constitution from the Farmers State Union, a contract with the Freedmen’s Bureau to hire laborers and a letter written by his wife during the Civil War describing conditions in Christian County and Clarksville, Tennessee. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Davie, Montgomery Decatur, 1827-1898

Davie family.

Kentucky State Grange of Patrons of Husbandry

Farmers State Union (Clarksville, Tenn.)

Christian County (Ky.)

Clarksville (Tenn.)

Agricultural societies – Kentucky.

National Grange. Kentucky State Grange.

Bankers – Tennessee – Clarksville.

Bank of America (Clarksville, Tenn.)

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152