Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-80 Paker Layton Shuff Ledger: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Parker Layton Shuff Ledger

Collection Title: Parker Layton Shuff Ledger

 

Series Number: MS10-80

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 29, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 29, 2010

 

Date Span: 1837-1848 (bulk, 1838-1844)

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 legal size file folders. 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Ledger.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some pages difficult to decipher.

 

Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Parker Layton Shuff was born in Scott County, Kentucky near Georgetown on October 19, 1809. He attended Transylvania Medical School and graduated in 1834. He practiced medicine in Scott, Bourbon and Fayette Counties in Kentucky until 1841 when he relocated to Fulton County, Kentucky. He continued to practice medicine at State Line until his death from consumption on January 9, 1857. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied ledger believed to have been kept by Parker Layton Shuff from 1837 to 1848. The ledger contains names of patients, prescriptions, list of services rendered and the cost of those services. Included in the ledger are the writings of Edwin R. Griffith the original owner of the ledger and possibly a fellow medical student from Transylvania University.   

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Shuff, Parker Layton, 1809-1857.

Griffith, Edwin P., 1817-

Physicians – Kentucky – Fulton County.

Physicians – Kentucky – Scott County.

Physicians – Kentucky – Bourbon County.

Physicians – Kentucky – Fayette County.

 

Additional Sources: See Fulton County History: Hickman, Kentucky, Volume One by the Fulton County Historical Society.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152