Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-76 Jackson Purchase Treaty Documents: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Jackson Purchase Treaty Documents

Collection Title: Jackson Purchase Treaty Documents

 

Series Number: MS10-76

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 20, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 20, 2010

 

Date Span: 1817-1818

 

Size of Collection: 1.0 linear foot.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Documents.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: On October 19, 1818 representatives of the Chickasaw Nation and the United States government signed a treaty whereby all lands east of the Mississippi River and north of the Mississippi state line were to be relinquish for the cost of $300,000. The United States Senate ratified the treaty on January 7, 1819.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of reproductions of treaties from the National Archives related to the transfer of lands by the Chickasaw Nation to the United States government in 1817 and 1818 that led to the creation of the Jackson Purchase in southwestern Kentucky and northwestern Tennessee. Included with the treaty reproductions is a signed proclamation by Governor Louie B. Nunn recognizing the 150th Anniversary of the Jackson Purchase Treaty on October 19, 1968.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Jackson Purchase (Ky.) – History.

Chickasaw Indians – Treaties.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152