Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-71 Sarah Young Rice Letters: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Sarah Young Rice Letters

Collection Title: Sarah Young Rice Letters

 

Series Number: MS10-71

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 16, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 16, 2010

 

Date Span: 1865-1867

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder. 18 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Sarah Young Rice was the wife of Thomas G. H. Rice a farmer and Baptist reverend who preached at Kinmundy, Illinois in 1866 and Seneca, Kansas in 1867. She was born on August 28, 1842 in St. Meinora, Kentucky to William and Delila Young. She married Thomas Rice on January 21, 1866 and died on November 17, 1867 at Seneca, Kansas.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied letters written by Sarah Young Rice to her father and mother from February 21, 1866 to August 9, 1867. The letters describe her daily activities at Kinmundy, Illinois in 1866 and Seneca, Kansas in 1867. Included in the collection are a letter from her brother Harrison Young from Mississippi in July of 1865 and three letters from her cousins James and Martha Robins in 1866.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Rice, Sarah Young, 1842-1867.

Rice, Thomas General Harrison, 1840-1889.

Young family.

Seneca (Kan.)

Kinmundy (Ill.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152