Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-69 Bailey & Wilson Company Daybook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Bailey & Wilson Company Daybook

Collection Title: Bailey & Wilson Company Daybook

 

Series Number: MS10-69

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 6, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 7, 2010

 

Date Span: 1867-1868

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Ledger.

 

Condition of Material: Poor with broken binder, torn pages, water and mold damage.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Bailey & Wilson Company was a grocery store located at Hickman, Kentucky during the 1860s and 1870s. The store was owned by H. C. Bailey and William M. Wilson. H. C. Bailey was born in Charlotte County, Virginia on July 31, 1824. He relocated to Hickman from Graves County in the late 1850s. Following the Civil War, he and Wilson opened a grocery store which they owned and operated for several years. Bailey was elected county judge in 1878 and later county commissioner in 1880. He died in Fulton County, Kentucky on April 5, 1895. Wilson is listed as a farmer from Fulton County in the 1860 national census.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a daybook kept by the Bailey & Wilson Company of Hickman, Kentucky from March 1, 1867 to May 27, 1868. The ledger contains the business records of grocery store owners H. C. Bailey and William M. Wilson. The records include the names, dates, prices and items purchased on credit, along with the names of men who purchased liquor and how many gallons. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Bailey & Wilson Company (Hickman, Ky.)

Bailey, H. C., 1824-1895

Wilson, William M., 1821-

Hickman (Ky.) – History.

Grocery trade – Kentucky – Hickman.

Account books – Kentucky – Hickman.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152