Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-60 International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1382 Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1382 Papers

Collection Title: International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1382 Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-60

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 28, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 28, 2010

 

Date Span: 1948-1954

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and legal documents.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The International Association of Machinists was organized in 1888 as the Order of United Machinist and Mechanical Engineers. The name was changed to the International Association of Machinists in 1890.  In 1954, the union again changed its name to the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. After the merger with aerospace workers, the International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1382 of Paducah, Kentucky became the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, District 19 and currently represents over 11,000 railroad workers in the region.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and legal documents related to a United States district court trial between the International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1382 and the Modine Manufacturing Company of Paducah, Kentucky from 1950 to 1954. The collection contains complaints, motions, affidavits, injunctions, evidence, court orders and correspondence amongst attorneys representing both the union and the Modine Manufacturing Company from June 1950 to December 1954. Included with the papers are a 1948 labor agreement between the union and the Modine Manufacturing Company, a 1950 constitution of the International Association of Machinists and published legal briefs of the trail by the United States Court of Appeals.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

International Association of Machinists. Local Lodge 1382 (Paducah, Ky.)

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. District 19 (Paducah, Ky.)

Machinists – Labor unions – Kentucky.

Modine Manufacturing Co. (Paducah, Ky.)

Freedland, Joseph Stephen, 1915-

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152