Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-59 Floyd Hall Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Floyd Hall Scrapbook

Collection Title: Floyd Hall Scrapbook

 

Series Number: MS10-59

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 28, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 28, 2010

 

Date Span: 1920s-1930s

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size file folders; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with a broken binding, minor tears and foxing due to aging and the acidic contents of the scrapbook.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Olney Floyd Hall was the principal of the Second Ward grade school at Catlettsburg, Kentucky from 1929 to 1957. He was born in Hazel, Kentucky and attended local public schools in Calloway County. He graduated from Murray High School in June of 1923 and the following year was elected principal of the Edge Hill School in Calloway County. He attended Murray State Teachers College from the spring of 1924 to the spring of 1925. In the fall of 1925, he was hired as a faculty member at Washington Junior High School in Paducah. During the summer months, Hall continued to attend Murray State Teachers College to acquire his teaching degree. In the fall of 1929, he was hired as principal of the Catlettsburg grade school. He remained at the school until his retirement in 1957.    

 

Scope and Content: The collection consists of a scrapbook kept by Floyd Hall of Catlettsburg, Kentucky from mid 1920s to the late 1930s. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings of articles related to Floyd Hall’s activities as a teacher and principal. The bulk of the clippings cover popular topics in American history, literature and religion. Included in the scrapbook are news reports on a historical marker being constructed and dedicated to Nathan Stubblefield at Murray, Kentucky.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Hall, Olney Floyd

Teachers – Kentucky – Catlettsburg.

School principals – Kentucky – Catlettsburg

Stubblefield, Nathan Beverly, 1860-1928.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152