Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-58 Calloway County School District No. 26 Ledger: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Calloway County School District No. 26 Ledger

Collection Title: Calloway County School District No. 26 Ledger

 

Series Number: MS10-58

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 25, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 25, 2010

 

Date Span: 1889-1932 (bulk 1890-1908)

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size file folders; 2 items.

 

Type of Material: Ledger.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with tears, foxing and fading due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Calloway County School District No. 26, better known as the Dicks Community, encompassed nine square miles along the Kentucky – Tennessee state line in Calloway County, Kentucky. The schoolhouse was constructed in 1886 and was over 6,900 square feet. The school averaged around 130 students from ages 6 to 20 between 1890 and 1908.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a bound ledger documenting administrative, financial and statistical information related to School District No. 26 of Calloway County, Kentucky from 1890 to 1908. The ledger contains a list of donors contributing to the building of the school, members of the Board of Trustees, teacher contracts and the name, age and birth date of each enrolled student. Included with the ledger are teacher’s term reports, district tax information and student report cards from the 1920s and 1930s.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Rural schools – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Public schools – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Calloway County (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152